The All Island Inter School U16 Baseball Championship organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Baseball Association concluded yesterday (02) with Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya, Dambulla emerging champions for the second consecutive year. 

Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya seized their qualification for the all-important finals trouncing Royal College, Ranabima in the first semi-final while D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo reserved their place in the finals defeating the same opponent in the second semi-final.

The captain of Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya won the toss and presented D.S. Senanayake College with the opportunity to bat first. 

The lads from Wewalawewa Central College proved to be too strong for the opposition in the first innings as they dismissed the three batters without conceding a single run. In reply, they scored 04 runs to get on top.

Read More : D.S. & Wewalawewa through to the finals

First Innings: D.S. Senanayake College 00 – 04 Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya 

D.S. Senanayake College found their rhythm in the second innings as they managed to score 02 runs and cruise through the opposition batting line-up conceding just 01 run.

Second Innings: D.S. Senanayake College 02 – 05 Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya

However, they could not continue their form in the third innings as they lost their three batters, before moving the scoreboard further while the opposition extended their lead scoring 02 more runs.

Third Innings: D.S. Senanayake College 02 – 07 Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya

It was all Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya in the fourth innings as they totally dismantled the opposition, getting all three batters out without conceding any runs while scoring a mammoth 06 runs making it impossible for the opposition to stage a comeback. 

Fourth Innings: D.S. Senanayake College 02 – 13 Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya

D.S. Senanayake College needed a minimum of 02 runs to get the gap below 10, but the opposition provided them with no opportunity whatsoever putting an end to their innings for no runs, and as a result Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya were crowned winners without having to bat their fifth innings.

Fifth Innings: D.S. Senanayake College 02 – 13 Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya

  • Champions: Wewalawewa Maha Vidyalaya, Dambulla
  • Runners-up: D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo
  • 02nd runners-up: Royal College, Ranabima 

>>Visit our Baseball Page for more News<<