The SLC Under 23 division one one-day tournament 2016 will commence on the 4th of July with the next generation of cricketers vying for top honours in a 20-day competition.

The curtain-raiser of this year’s tournament will be played between Ragama Cricket Club and Army Sports Club at the Thurstan College grounds. The final has been scheduled to be played on the 24th of July at SSC grounds.

In the past, 14 teams played in the division one tournament in a three-day competition, which has been a golden stepping stone to all the upcoming cricketers who were looking to play professional cricket in Sri Lanka for the last few decades.

This time around the quality of cricket will be in question with this new structure of only playing limited-overs cricket. Many club administrators and young players have raised their concerns on this tournament which does not provide any match fees to the participants, but they have no option but only to take part.

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Tournament Committee has decided to seed 23 club teams in 4 groups, based on the points earned in the previous season. Last year, Moors Sports Club and Tamil Union Cricket & Athletic Club were adjudged joint-winners after the final was called off due to rain.

In the division 2 tournament, 45 clubs have been drawn into 8 groups and that competition will start on July 2nd with Leo CC taking on Xavirities CC at Katuneriya.

The preliminary round matches will be played on a league basis and the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals.

After the conclusion of the 50-over tournament, the T20 tournament among the 23 division one teams will be worked off within two weeks of time.

Division One Participating Teams

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Tamil Union C & AC Moors SC Ragama CC Galle CC
Negombo CC Saracens SC Army SC Chilaw Marians CC
Bloomfield BRC SL Ports Authority CC Badureliya CC
Navy SC Air Force SC Kurunegala Youth CC Kalutara Town CC
Panadura SC Police SC Lankan CC


Under 23 Division 1 Tournament – Full Fixtures
Date Home Opponent Venue
4th July Ragama CC Army SC Thurstan
5th July Saracens SC BRC Surrey
6th July Tamil Union C & AC NCC P Sara
Bloomfield C & AC Navy SC Bloomfield
Negombo CC Panadura SC Kadirana
Moors SC CCC Moors
Colts CC Ragama CC Colts
Kurunegala Youth CC Police SC Welagedara
Chilaw Marians CC Badureliya CC FTZ
7th July Kalutara Town CC Lankan CC Surrey
Army SC SL Ports Authority CC Panagoda
9th July Bloomfield C & AC Tamil Union C & AC Bloomfield
NCC Panadura SC NCC
Navy SC Negombo CC Welisara
Saracens SC Moors SC Moors
CCC Air Force SC CCC
Kurunegala Youth CC Colts CC Dambulla
SL Ports Authority CC Police SC Kadirana
Chilaw Marians CC Galle CC FTZ
SSC Kalutara Town CC SSC
Lankan CC Badureliya CC Panagoda
10th July Tamil Union C & AC Navy SC P.Sara
Negombo CC NCC Kadirana
Panadura SC Bloomfield C & AC Panadura
Moors BRC Moors
Air Force SC Saracens SC TBC
SL Ports Authority CC Ragama CC FTZ
Colts CC Police SC Colts
Army SC Kurunegala Youth CC Panagoda
Kalutara Town CC Chilaw Marians CC Surrey
12th July Badureliya CC Galle CC Surrey
Lankan CC Chilaw Marians CC FTZ
13th July NCC Navy SC NCC
Bloomfield C & AC Negombo CC Bloomfield
Panadura SC Tamil Union C & AC Panadura
Moors SC Air Force SC Moors
Colts CC SL Ports Authority CC Colts
Police SC Army SC Panagoda
Galle CC Kalutara Town CC Surrey
14th July Ragama CC Kalutara Town CC Thurstan
SSC Badureliya CC SSC
15th July BRC Air Force SC FTZ
Badureliya Kalutara Town CC Surrey
16th July Tamil Union C & AC Negombo CC P.Sara
NCC Bloomfield C & AC NCC
Navy SC Panadura SC Welisara
CCC Saracens SC CCC
Police SC Ragama CC Dambulla
Army SC Colts CC Panagoda
Kurunegala Youth CC SL Ports Authority CC Welagedara
Galle CC Lankan CC Surrey
Chilaw Marians SSC FTZ
19th July Quarter Final 1 NCC
Quarter Final 2 Colts
Quarter Final 3 CCC
Quarter Final 4 Moors
  22nd July Semi Final 1 SSC
Semi Final 2 NCC
24th July Final SSC