Kalalpitiya 6-fer wrecks Kingswood

U19 Schools Cricket Tournament 2022/23


Three traditional matches of the U19 Schools Cricket commenced today (13th March) at Colombo, Ambepussa and Kurunegala.

A traditional encounter between Mahanama College and Lumbini College was held today at BRC Grounds in Colombo.

Mahanama College posted 288 runs for their first innings after winning the toss. Koojana Perera was the top scorer with 78 runs, while in-form Kavindu Amameth and Anjala Perera scored half-centuries too.

When the stumps been called on Day 1, Lumbini College were struggling at 56/3.

D.S. Senanayake College met Dharmaraja College in another traditional game at SL Army Sinha Regiment Grounds in Ambepussa.

After having won the toss, Dharmaja Skipper Thisaru Wanninayake put their oppositions to bat first, ad their bowlers prove that decision right by  bowling out D. S. Senanayake for 134 runs. As their top scorers, Malitha Perera and Himantha Keshan scored 29 & 28 respectively. Nisala Abeyrathne was the pick of the bowlers with a figures of 4/60.

At the end of Day 1, the Rajans were on 115/5, trailing by only 19 runs with 5 wickets in hand.

Another traditional Cricket match was held today between Kingswood College and Vidyartha College at Boyagane Army Cricket Grounds in Kurunegala.

After deciding to bat first, Kingswood College were rather disappointingly bowled out for 76 runs. Left-arm spinner Adhithya Kalalpitiya was the main destroyer as he produced an incredible spell of 6/16.

In reply, Vidyartha College batted solidly as they were on 227/8 when the stumps had been called on Day 1. After taking their side to a comfortable position, Anishka Gunarathne, Shyamal Priyabhashana and Pubudu Tharaka unfortunately fell in forties.

Brief Scores:

Mahanama College, Colombo 288 (64.2) Koojana Perera 78, Kavindu Amameth 55, Anjala Perera 55, Yasiru Yugath 4/60

Lumbini College, Colombo 56/3 (22) Dhanitha Sandesh 24*, Omesh Udara 2/12

Day 1 Stumps

D.S. Senanayake College, Colombo 134 (50.4) Malitha Perera 29, Himantha Keshan 28, Nisala Abeyrathne 4/60, Onajith De Silva 2/20

Dharmaraja College, Kandy 115/5 (38) Onajith De Silva 36, Arosha Mahagedara 30, Adhisha Bandaranayake 2/17, Poorna Sulakshana 2/21

Day 1 Stumps

Kingswood College, Kandy 76 (28.5) Ravindu Bandara 28, Adhithya Kalalpitiya 6/16, Anishka Gunarathne 2/8, Shevan Kanishas 2/32

Vidyartha College, Kandy 227/8 (68.2) Anishka Gunarathne 47, Shyamal Priyabhashana 42, Pubudu Tharaka 40, Dinuka Sandaruwan 3/30

Day 1 Stumps