Home Cricket Ahan seals the double championship for Royal

Ahan seals the double championship for Royal

Singer Under 19 ‘Division 2’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2018/19


The final of the Singer Under 19 ‘Division 2’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2018/19 between Royal College, Colombo vs St. Anthony’s College, Kandy concluded today (11th April) at Colts Cricket Ground, crowning the Royalists as the Division 02 champions.

Report – Day 01

Royal College started the second day on 26 for 1, trailing by 240 runs against St. Anthony’s College’s 1st innings total with Isiwara Dissanayake and Ahan Wickramasinghe being the overnight batsmen.

Dissanayake couldn’t stay in the middle for long as he was dismissed by left arm spinner Nimnaka Jayathilaka who went onto pick up 5 Royal scalps.

But Jayathilaka’s performance was over-shadowed by the brilliant Royal batsmanship as 3 batsmen from Reid Avenue went past 50 runs.

Under 19 national cap, batting maestro Pasindu Sooriyabandara contributed to the Royal cause with a rapid half century while experienced Bhagya Dissanayake missed out on a well-deserved century by just 9 runs.

Photos: Royal College vs St. Anthony’s College | U19 Div II Cricket Tournament 2018/19 – Final – Day 2

But the pick of the batsmen was Ahan Wickramasinghe who smashed a brilliant century with 11 boundaries. He ended up scoring 116 runs and helped Royal surpass St. Anthony’s College’s first innings score of 266.

Royal’s first innings was restricted to 314 by the opposition but it was too late as Royal already had secured the first innings win. Two teams agreed to conclude the match as a draw but Royal won the championship of Singer Under 19 ‘Division 2’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2018/19 by bonus points.

Both teams had already secured their spots in division 01 next season after being qualifying for the final of the tournament. Royal College won the limited overs edition of the division 02 too.

>>Click here for more Schools Cricket News<< 


Match drawn

Royal College
314/10 (84.3)
St. Anthony’s College
266/10 (88.5)
C Wickramasinghe c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Kavindu Pathirathne8132061.54
A Wanninayake c Bagya Dissanayake b Kaushan Kulasooriya32635050.79
Prabath Sachin c Kavindu Pathirathne b Kamil Mishara15392038.46
T Gunasinghe c Isiwara Dissanayake b Manula Perera3250012.00
T Abeykoon run out (G Dissanayake)31534058.49
K Senarathna not out10217313058.96
L Werellagama c Isiwara Dissanayake b Kamil Mishara6160037.50
M Kamil lbw b Kamil Mishara27763035.53
G Ebert c Kavindu Madarasinghe b Manula Perera6291020.69
S Hirudika c Ahan Sanchitha b Manula Perera01000.00
N Jayathilaka c Kaushan Kulasooriya b Kavindu Pathirathne14523026.92
Extras22 (b 10 , lb 7 , nb 3, w 2, pen 0)
Total266/10 (88.5 Overs, RR: 2.99)
Kavindu Pathirathne10.533323.14
Lahiru Madushanka1224403.67
Kamil Mishara2867332.61
Manula Perera2175032.38
Kaushan Kulasooriya812413.00
Gishan Balasuriya913203.56

Isiwara Dissanayake c M Kamil b N Jayathilaka13311041.94
Kamil Mishara b S Hirudika4200200.00
Ahan Sanchitha c T Gunasinghe b N Jayathilaka11614811078.38
Kavindu Madarasinghe run out ()010000.00
Pasindu Sooriyabandara c M Kamil b T Abeykoon524962106.12
Bagya Dissanayake c T Abeykoon b N Jayathilaka9115311059.48
Lahiru Madushanka c K Senarathna b T Abeykoon160016.67
Kavindu Pathirathne c K Senarathna b N Jayathilaka10282035.71
Kaushan Kulasooriya b N Jayathilaka380037.50
Manula Perera c T Gunasinghe b C Wickramasinghe564007.81
Gishan Balasuriya not out4101040.00
Extras15 (b 12 , lb 0 , nb 2, w 1, pen 0)
Total314/10 (84.3 Overs, RR: 3.72)
S Hirudika503316.60
C Wickramasinghe621712.83
N Jayathilaka36.3511953.28
K Senarathna1925703.00
A Wanninayake712904.14
G Ebert302809.33
T Abeykoon812022.50