Avishka Perera and Raveen De Silva pilot Nalanda to victory

Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2019/20


The right-handed batsman Avishka Perera’s brilliant batting display and leg spinner Raveen de Silva’s impressive bowling effort guided Nalanda College, Colombo to register a comprehensive victory over Gurukula College, Kelaniya in their Group C encounter of the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2019/20 which was worked off today at Nalanda College Grounds in Colombo.      

Trinity, St. Peter’s and St. Anthony’s register wins

The hosts’ overnight batsmen resumed day two on 6 runs for zero wickets and managed to post 172 runs in 39.5 overs setting a target of 215 runs for the visitors. The skipper Avishka Perera played a wonderful knock for the hosts but missed out a well-deserved century by just 2 runs. In addition, Jithesh Wasala made an unbeaten 22 runs. 

Thurstan beat Maris Stella; St. Peter’s and Trinity on top

The left-arm spinner Thushara Madushan impressed with the ball, taking 4 scalps for 38 runs while the left arm seamer Praveen Nimesh picked up 2 wickets for 26 runs. Chasing 215 runs to win, Gurukula College batsmen got off to a decent start but lost their way as they were bowled out for 111 runs handing a comprehensive 103-run victory for the hosts. 

Nalanda takes first innings points; Royal in command

Kemira Nayanatharu was the only standout batsman as the lad from Kelaniya made 40 runs with the bat. Sri Lanka U19 captain and right arm leg spinner Raveen de Silva showed his tricks with the ball picking up 4 wickets for 38 runs while Chamodya Rajapakshe supported him at the other end taking 3 wickets for 22 runs. 

Brief Scores

Nalanda College – 135 (40) Rashan Dissanayake 44, Jithesh Wasala 31, Rashmika Mewan 6/23, Praveen Nimesh 2/37 & 172 (39.5) Avishka Perera 98, Jithesh Wasala 22*, Thushara Madushan 4/38, Praveen Nimesh 2/26

Gurukula College – 93 (47.1) Kemira Nayanatharu 25, Mahima Weerakoon 3/03, Chamodya Rajapaksha 3/11, Jithesh Wasala 2/15, Dineth Samaraweera 2/19 & 111 (33.4) Kemira Nayanatharu 40, Sithija Chamod 28, Raveen de Silva 4/38, Chamodya Rajapakshe 3/22, Dineth Samaraweera 2/05

Result – Nalanda College won by 103 runs