U-17 Pre-Quarter Finals set to begin

under 17 cricket

The pre-quarter final stage of the All Island Division I U17 Cricket tournament is set to commence on the 09th of August 2016. Here`s a look at who’s playing who for the title.

The tournament first started in mid May featuring seventy-five teams who competed in ten groups. After months of tough competition among them, a number of thirty-two teams have placed themselves in the second round of the tournament.

The thirty-two schools battled it out to qualify for the pre-quarter final stage which will start off with Maliyadeva College taking on the St. Joseph`s College at the Welagedara Stadium.

Wesley College topped Group P in the previous round and will face St. Aloysius College Galle who were runners-up in Group W. Trinity College who placed themselves in the second position in Group V will play St. Sebastian`s College, the champions of Group Q.

Richmond College who won all 3 of their matches in group V will play a home pre-quarter final against Thurstan College, who booked the final place in the pre-quarter final lineup.

D.S. Senanayake College emerged champions in Group R while St. Peter`s College booked the second slot from the same group. Gurukula Vidylaya earned the first place in Group S and will play Ananda College Colombo the defending champions of the title. Mahinda College who were victorious in Group T will meet Kingswood College in their pre-quarter final encounter.

Fixtures: U17 Division I Pre-Quarter Finals  

  • Maliyadeva College vs St. Joseph’s College – Welegedara Stadium, 9th August
  • Wesley vs St. Aloysius – Wesley College Grounds, 10th August
  • Mahinda College vs Kingswood College – Mahinda College Grounds, 10th August
  • DS Senanayake College vs Devapathiraja College – Bloomfield Grounds, 11th August
  • Gurukula College vs Ananda College – Mahara Prison Grounds, 11th August
  • Prince of Wales’ College vs St. Peter’s College – De Soysa Stadium, 11th August
  • Richmond College vs Thurstan College – Venue not confirmed, 12th August
  • St. Sebastian’s vs Trinity – St. Sebastian’s College Grounds, 14th August