Three uncapped players in Afghanistan Asia Cup squad


Afghanistan have named three uncapped players in an otherwise familiar-looking squad of 17 for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018.

Sayed Sherzad, Munir Ahmad and Wafadar are the three players in the squad to have never played One-Day International cricket before. Of them, Wafadar and Sherzad have played Test cricket and Twenty20 International cricket respectively, but Ahmad is yet to represent Afghanistan.

Lasith Malinga picked in Sri Lanka squad for Asia Cup

Sri Lanka’s national cricket selectors has recalled fast bowler Lasith Malinga

Wafadar, the 18-year-old fast bowler who impressed in Afghanistan’s maiden Test match earlier this year against India, and Shirzad, a 23-year-old left-arm pacer who has played three T20Is, have been called up to bolster the pace attack.

Afghanistan’s strength will, expectedly, remain their spinners – Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are all in the squad.

Kohli rested from Asia Cup, Rohit Sharma to lead

Rohit Sharma will lead the India team during the Asia Cup with regular skipper

Ahmad, 22, has a good batting average across formats in domestic cricket – 49.86 in first-class matches and 48.42 in List A games – and he also doubles up as a back-up wicket-keeper for Mohammad Shahzad if needed.

Dawlat Zadran is the only omission from the side that won the One-Day International series in Ireland recently. Zadran did not feature in the playing XI in any of the three ODIs on the tour, where Afghanistan won the ODIs 2-1 to go with their 2-0 win in the T20Is.

Brilliant Afghanistan see off Ireland to secure ODI series

Afghanistan outplayed Ireland to win by eight wickets in Belfast and take the

Afghanistan begin their Asia Cup campaign with a match against Sri Lanka on 17 September.

Squad: Asghar Afghan (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmat Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Aftab Alam, Samiullah Shinwari, Munir Ahmad Kakar (wk), Sayed Ahmad Sherzad, Sharafudin Ashraf, Wafadar