The most celebrated Schools Aquatic event ready to commence

The 48th Annual Sri Lanka Schools All Island Age Group Aquatic Championships 2023


The 48th Annual Sri Lanka Schools All Island Age Group Aquatic Championships 2023, organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Aquatic Sports Association and powered by Nestlé – Milo, will be held from the 23rd of August – the 27th of August 2023 at the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex.

The SLSASA along with the main sponsor of the event “Nestlè- Milo” gave an overall preview of the event at the press conference held on the 09th of August at CR&FC grounds.

Swimming events will run on all 5 days while diving will be on the 24th and 25th of August.

During this week, Sugathadasa pool will accommodate 5000 swimmers and divers from 252 island-wide schools. The athletes will compete in 6 age groups: under 10,12,14,16,18 and 20. The swimmers will race in a total of 144 individual events and 24 relays. The divers will show their talents in 1m springboard, 3m springboard and platform events.

According to the guidelines of the Ministry of Education, all top 8 under 10, and 12 athletes will be recognized with qualification certificates without placings. The top 3 placings of the rest of the age groups will be awarded medals and certificates and the top 8 positions will receive qualification certificates.

Additionally in swimming, one athlete is eligible to participate in a maximum of 3 events and a school can only enter 3 swimmers per event. Also, all 50m events will swim as heats and finals, the 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m and relays will swim as timed finals.

The closing ceremony of the event will be on the last day, the 27th of August. A total of 37 trophies are set to be awarded at the closing ceremony appreciating individual champions, age group team champions, junior and senior champions, and overall champions in both swimming and diving.

When looking back at the last year’s results, St. Joseph’s, Visakha and Lyceum -Wattala won the overall Boys’, Girls’ and Mixed championships respectively. At the same time, Royal College and Bishop’s College ruled the diving boards.

The competition will run under the laws of the SLASU and the rules of SLSASA.