Tharuka and Sriyalatha winners at ‘Guwan Hamuda Paapedi Sawaariya’


Ashen Tharuka of Sri Lanka Air Force was able to win the Overall Championship while U.D. Sriyalatha won the women’s championship of the ‘17th Guwan Hamuda Paapedi Sawaariya’ organized by the Sri Lanka Cycling Federation and Sri Lanka Air Force.

Ashen finished first in the first stage and finished 10th in the 2nd stage.

Lakshman Wijeratne of Army won the 2nd place while Nishantha Perera of Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia Municipal Council Sports Club won the third place.

The Army ‘A’ team won the overall team championship while Air Force ‘A’ team were the runners-up.

The women’s race, which was held in parallel to the men’s race, was won by U.D.Sriyalatha of Ranjith Aruna Cycling Club.

Second place went to Sudharika Priyadarshani of Air Force, while the third place went to Dinesha Dilrukshi also of Air Force.

50 women’s racers participated in the race which was 65.5 km in distance, starting from the Ekala Air Force camp and finishing at the Air Force Head Quarters in Colombo.

South Asian Gold Medalist Jeewan Jayasinghe of Air Force won the award as the ‘Sprint Champion’ of the Tour while the women’s ‘Sprint Champion’ was also U.D.Sriyalatha.

Jeewan Jayasinghe won the 3rd and final stage of the Tour in 3:03.13 hours while Air Force riders Nidush Nirantha and Naveen Ruchira won second and third places respectively.

The 3rd stage started from Koggala Air Force Base at 8:30am and ended after a total distance of 133 kilometers.

Jeewan Jayasinghe won the first ‘Sprint’ segment of 3rd stage while Kassapa Siriwardena of Port Authority won 2nd place and Gihan Pushpakumara won third place.

The second ‘Sprint’ segment started from Beruwala which was won by Chamika Kasun of Ports Authority and Isuru Kumarasinghe of Army won 2nd place. Third place was won by Sarath Padmalal also from Ports Authority.

The Tour was sponsored by Abans with over 150 riders from the three forces and cycling clubs participating.