Taskin Ahmed recalled to Bangladesh squads for New Zealand tour


Pacer Taskin Ahmed has been recalled to the Bangladesh Test and ODI squads for their upcoming tour of New Zealand, where they will play three Tests and as many one-day internationals.

All-rounder Sabbir Rahman, who had been serving a six-month ban by the Bangladesh Cricket Board, also returns to the ODI squad after his suspension was truncated by a month. Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh in Tests, while Mashrafe Mortaza will be at the helm in the ODIs.

Uncapped right-arm spinner Nayeem Hasan has also been drafted into the ODI squad.

Meanwhile, Imrul Kayes, Abu Hider Rony, Ariful Haque and Nazmul Islam have been axed from the ODI squad, while top-order batsman Soumya Sarker and wicket-keeper Ariful Haque have been left out of the Test squad.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Masrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Liton Das, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Md Mithun, Madmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Md Shaifuddin, Nayeem Hasan

Bangladesh Test squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Madmudullah, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Md Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Rahi, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Nayeem Hasan

Bangladesh’s tour of New Zealand:

Match Dates Venues
1st ODI 13 February 2019 McLean Park, Napier
2nd ODI 16 February 2019 Hagley Oval, Christchurch
3rd ODI 19 February 2019 University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
1st Test 28 February – 04 March 2019 Seddon Park, Hamilton
2nd Test 8-12 March 2019 Basin Reserve, Wellington
3rd Test 16-20 March 2019

Hagley Oval, Christchurch