Summer Season All-Island Badminton Championships concludes in Nuwara Eliya

Badminton Championship

Savinaka Weerasekara and Ranithma Liyanage won the Open Men’s and Women’s single titles at the Summer Season All-Island Badminton Championship at the Municipal Indoor Stadium Nuwara Eliya over the weekend.

Savinaka Weerasekara overcame Aashinsa Herath, the top seed, in a thrilling final (21-13, 17-21, 21-13) to win the Men’s title in the seven-day event.

Ranithma outclassed Hasara Wijerathne in in another close tussel (21-12, 18-21, 21-12) to clinch the Open Women’s crown of this year’s edition of the popular tournament conducted by the Central Province Badminton Association in collaboration with Sri Lanka Badminton. Ranithma is also the reigning national champion and is a 16-year-old student of Christ Church College Baddegama.

The Women’s Doubles final was won by Buthmi Galagamage and Nadeesha Gayanthi overpowering Rashmi Mudalige and Thiyaana Widanarachchi (21-19,20-22,21-17).

Lochana de Silva and Rashintha de Silva won the Men’s Doubles final as they defeated Oshamika Karunaratne and Thulith Palliyaguru pretty easily to clinch the title. (21-17, 22-20).

The Mixed Doubles final was won by Thulith Palliyaguru and Buthmi Galagamage who defeated Chamath Dias and Nathasha Gunasekara in a relatively easy two sets game. (21-14, 21-15).