Reigning Unbeaten Champions set sights on another Flawless season

Dialog Schools Rugby League 2024

Dialog Schools Rugby League 2024

Let’s take a closer look at the St. Peter’s College Rugby team that will be competing in the Dialog Schools Rugby League 2024.


St. Peter’s College Rugby team, founded in 1932, boasts an illustrious legacy in Sri Lankan rugby. Revered for their tenacity and spirited play, St. Peter’s has emerged as a powerhouse in the school’s rugby arena, consistently nurturing talent for national teams and embodying a tradition of excellence and sportsmanship.

>>Photos – Wesley College 1st XV Rugby Preview 2024<<

In the modern era, they claimed the prestigious Schools Double Championship in 2006 and marked unforgettable unbeaten seasons in 2007 and 2010. Recent triumphs include back-to-back victories in the President’s Trophy knockout in 2018 and 2019, with last season culminating in a remarkable unbeaten streak where they clinched both Dialog Schools Rugby League and knockout titles. The 2024 season has commenced triumphantly with wins in the Dialog Schools U19 Elite Rugby 7s and the Zahira Centenary Rugby 7s, setting the stage for another remarkable chapter in their history.

Current Outfit

St. Peter’s current team showcases a harmonious blend of experienced players and promising newcomers, striking a perfect balance between seasoned leadership and emerging talent. With a formidable forward pack and backs boasting exceptional pace and skills, this year’s lineup is poised to pose a significant challenge for opposing teams. Their stellar defense proved instrumental in securing championships last season, marking it as their key asset for the upcoming matches.

Leading the charge this year is Peterite No. 08, Dulaj Navodya, supported by two capable Vice-Captains, Yumeth Shihara and Ranithu Ridmal.

Players to Watch Out For

Navodya’s versatility as a No. 8 and hooker will undoubtedly be a significant asset for the Peterites, providing both depth and flexibility.

The potent combination of Yumeth Shihara and Emith Jayaweera in the center positions is expected to be a formidable force, likely spearheading the team’s scoring efforts alongside the dynamic fullback Pasindu Bandara. Salith Gallage and Raul Peter, forming the halfback pairing, are set to orchestrate the team’s play with precision and control.

>>Vidyartha ‘Tigers’ – brimming with promise and potential<<

Bolstering the team’s core, the front-row partnership of vice-captain Ranithu Ridmal and Jehan Weerabansa will be crucial in advancing the ball, with Aiden Fernando playing a pivotal role in the second row, particularly excelling in the lineouts.


The Bamba Brigade is coached by the maestro Sanath Martis, with Rajeev Perera and Banauka Nanayakkara serving as assistant coaches. The team trainers are Ransilu Jayathilaka and Shanath De Silva.

This dedicated coaching team, guiding the talented youngsters, aims to replicate the heroics of their first year together and lead St. Peter’s College to another title victory.

Expectations for the Season

St. Peter’s College is riding high, especially following their recent victory in the 7s tournaments. With the taste of triumph fresh in their minds, they aim to replicate their unbeaten success from last season and secure the elusive triple crown.

>>Trinity College Rugby – A force to reckon in 2024<<

Their journey begins with defending their title on home turf against Thurstan College, followed by challenging fixtures in Kandy against Kingswood College and Vidyartha College.

The highly anticipated clashes with arch-rival St. Joseph’s in their Annual Big Match and the showdown against Royal College to conclude the first round are of particular significance. Can St. Peter’s College defy the odds and retain all their hard-earned trophies? Only time will tell as this thrilling season unfolds.

Full Squad

Forwards – Dulaj Navodya (Captain), Ranithu Rithmal (Vice Captain), Aiden Fernando, Jehan Weerabangsa, Denon Ranaweera, Januka Sudeepa, Sandin Kularathne, Shenuka Perera, Sithila Nimsara, Cheval Abeygoonewardena, Revone Perera, Januth Rathnayake, Shakeel Hassimdeen, Shenal Noel, Ashaz Akram, Trevin Herft, Talish Soysa, Chirath Perera.

Backs – Yumeth Shihara (Vice Captain), Salith Gallage, Pasindu Bandara, Emith Jayaweera, Vishenka Silva, Praneeth Silva, Raul Peter, Sulaimaan Riyaz, Pramuka Adhithya, Nethshan Manthusha, Senuth Dinsara, Vihan Sannasuriya, Ashok Mallawarchchi, Rehan Sahid, Jamaal Wahab, Shirash Perera.


  • Vs Thurstan College– 15th June at Bambalapitiya
  • Vs Kingswood College– 22nd June at Bogambara Stadium
  • Vs Wesley College– 29th June at Bambalapitiya
  • Vs Vidyartha College– 7th July at Nittawela
  • Vs St. Joseph’s College– 13th July at Bambalapitiya
  • Vs Zahira College– 19th July at Bambalapitiya
  • Vs Royal College– 27th July at Royal Complex