St. Joseph’s eye elusive League title


St. Joseph’s College kick off the Dialog Schools’ Rugby League 2024 as they take on Vidyartha College on the 14th of June and with that, harbour hopes of the elusive League Championship, a title that has eluded them for years!


The Josephians have never managed to register a League title to their name and their search goes on. Rugby began at the School in Maradana in 1955 and an illustrious list of former players have been produced, but the lack of a League title still haunts them dearly following their best finish, coming second in 2018 and 2022.

Current Outfit

This season, St. Joseph’s are not the potent Josephian Rugby teams we have seen over the past.

Having lost plenty of seniors over the 2023 season, Joes Rugby is in a rebuilding phase for the future.

Players to watch out for

Having said that, the Joesphians consist of a few potent players; the likes of Ivano White and Beeshma Jayasekera are a couple to have a close eye on in the three quarters while younger Marasinghe, Janith is a key man in the forwards alongside skipper Vishika Fernando.


The coaching contingent remains the same at Maradana as Nilufer Ibrahim has been retains alongside Dulanjana Wijesinghe as the forwards coach.

The pair bring in a wealth of experience and will no doubt be aiming to get off the duck — in terms of league titles

Expectations for the Season

Expectations are no doubt sky high at the beginning, however, if a couple of pre-season defeats are anything to go by, this will no doubt be more than a cake walk for the Josephians going into a fresh campaign in 2024.

Full Squad

Forwards: Vishika Fernando (C), Sithanga Liyanage, Mindulka Perera, Hemish Gamage, Aaron Bandara, Tiran Wijegoonawardana, Kenishyas John, Sathira Gunathilake, Ashen Minura, Pramod Kavinthe, Sandesh Induawara, Dinath Tharin, Inosh Silva, Janith Marasinghe (VC), Shehath Malinda, Denistan Croos, Oshala Silva, Adeesha Perera, Thisath thewnila, Isuru Chathuranga


Three quarters: Ivano White, Nathan Guneratne, Bryan Fernando, Jithara Peiris, Senithu Eran, Joel Ranasinghe, Chirath Chandupa, Senuja Geeran, Thevan Kithnuka, Malshan Dewmin, Akash Gomaz, Beeshma Jayasekera, Sasindu Kariyawasam, Adriano R Candappa, Tharusha Jayasuriya


vs Vidyartha College                       14th June      Havelock Park

vs Zahira College                            22nd June     Zahira Grounds

vs Thurstan College                        28th June      Air Force Grounds

vs Wesley College                          5th July          Havelock Park

vs SPC                                          13th July        Royal Complex

vs Royal College                             19th July        Havelock Park

vs Kingswood College                     26th July        Havelock Park