St.Joseph’s & Megodawewa MV win A’pura U15 Championships

Samaposha All Island U15 ChampionshipSamaposha All Island U15 ChampionshipSamaposha All Island U15 Championship

St. Joseph’s College Anuradhapura and Yakalla Megodawewa MV won the boys’ and girls’ categories in the Anuradhapura District Football Championships and qualified for the final stage of the Samaposha All Island U15 Championship.

St. Joseph’s College Anuradhapura eased into the final after thumping Dewanampiyatissa Maha Vidyalaya 4-0 in the semi-finals and breezed past Kuda Nelum Wewa Gemunu Maha Vidyalaya in the finals by 2-0 score line.

Kuda Nelum Wewa Gemunu Maha Vidyalaya booked their place in the finals after nerve wrecking shootout against Horowpathana College, after their semifinal ended in a goalless stalemate.

The Girls segment saw a three way tie between Yakalla Megodawewa Maha Vidyalaya, Anuradhapura Central College and Kuda Nelum Wewa Gemunu Maha Vidyalaya.

Kuda Nelum Wewa Gemunu Maha Vidyalaya won 1-0 against Anuradhapura Central College while Yakalla Megodawewa Maha Vidyalaya defeated Kuda Nelum Wewa Gemunu Maha Vidyalaya 1-0. Yakalla Megodawewa Maha Vidyalaya drew 0-0 with Anuradhapura Central College which sent Yakalla Megodawewa MV into the final round of the Girls’ competition.     

Other District Results

Many other districts around the island have crowned their champions in the Samaposha U15 Championship in the boys and girls categories, as the victors will be going forward to the All Island Championship where they’ll take on district and regional winner of respective districts.


St. Henry’s College stamped their authority on the game once again as the Kings of the North, when they emerged as the winners of U15 boys’ category beating neighbours St. Patrick’s College, in the Jaffna district competition. Last year’s champions Mahajana College Jaffna triumphed in the girls’ category beating Madatherippu Girls School, in the final.


St. Peter’s Udugampola overcame the boys from Nalanda College Minuwangoda to take the title in the Gampaha district. The finalists progressed to the finals on the end of nervy shootouts as both semifinals ended in a stalemate, against St. Mary’s Veyangoda and Sangabodhi Maha Vidyalaya respectively. In the girls’ class Ranpokunugama Maha Vidyalaya defeated Siddhartha College Gampaha by a solitary goal.


The Mawanella District saw the Baduriya Central College storm through to the district championship unbeaten as they brushed aside a resurgent Darul Uloom College in the boys final. Noteworthy is that Baduriya Central College managed an identical record in the U17 age category as well as they clinched the title unbeaten.

Wattala / Kelaniya

The Wattala/Kelaniya saw a usual suspect in the schools’ football arena emerge as the winner, when De Mazenod College Kandana strolled past Christ King College Thudella in the final. The girls U15 category saw a solitary participant in Vihara Mahadevi Balika Vidyala who progressed to the big stage by default.