Sri Lanka name 16-member squad for Tour of England

Sri Lanka Women Tour of England 2023

Image Courtesy ICC

Sri Lanka Cricket have named a 16-member squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka Women Tour of England 2023 from 31st August to 14th of September.

The tour will feature 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is, kicking off with the T20I leg in Hove, Chelmsford and Derby before moving on to the all-important ODIs, which are part of the ICC Women’s Championship (qualifier for 2025 ODI WC).

Sri Lanka have made just one change to the squad that featured against New Zealand in June/July of this year, with Achini Kulasooriya returning to the side after recovering from injury. None of the 15 from the series against New Zealand have been omitted, with Sri Lanka opting to take the extra player instead. 

Sri Lanka go into the tour after unprecedented success against the White Ferns, where they registered their 1st ever win in any format, 1st series win and 1st T20I win against the New Zealand Women. 

Chamari Athapaththu will lead the side, with Oshadi Ranasinghe to act as her deputy in what will be the side’s 1st tour of England for bilateral series. 

The Squad 

Chamari Athapaththu – Captain, Oshadi Ranasinghe – Vice Captain, Harshitha Samarawickrama, VishmiGunaratne, Nilakshi de Silva, Kaveesha Dilhari, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Anushka Sanjeewani – WK, Udeshika Prabodhani, Achini Kulasuriya, Kawya Kavindi, Inoshi Fernando, Hansima Karunaratne, Hasini Perera, Imesha Dulani