Sri Lanka Women’s Water Polo team will be heading to Bangkok today with the aim of securing a medal at the Princess Chulabhorn Water Polo Tournament which will be held from 16th -19th November.

This will be the first time that the Sri Lanka Women’s Water Polo team will be participating in this tournament.

This traditional championship is conducted for annual club celebration of Chulabhorn Aquatic club. Following the success of the Princess Chulabhorn Water Polo Cup 2016, there will 20 teams participating from 8 countries this year.

This tournament is set to be better and more professional Water Polo championship this time around.

The teams would participate from countries such as, Australia, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Japan and Thailand. The winners of this tournament will be awarded trophies and cash prizes at the prize giving.

The Sri Lanka team taking flight is a balanced outfit. Speaking in place of Captain Charya Darmadasa, Deethri Ekanayake, Vice-Captain of the touring squad expressed her confidence in the team “This team is evenly balanced with school players and girls who have been playing for a long time, Captain herself has been playing for so long and she leads by example”

She further added, “Individually everyone can play in any position which is an advantage we have. All the girls are key players in their own right”

Finally she spoke about how well the preparations have been and about the team’s expectations, “From the day one, we have been training as a team and have been preparing six days a week in the build up to this tournament and expect a medal off of this tour”

Touring Party:

  1. Minuri De Silva
  2. Varuni Ekanayake
  3. Deethri Samarajeewa
  4. Rheanna David
  5. Shaleena Peiris
  6. Nimashi De Silva
  7. Shenara David
  8. Kavee Perera
  9. Nuravi Assalarachchi
  10. Kanchana Swaminathan
  11. Nadishka Senanayake
  12. Tusari Ekanayake
  13. Dakshitha Thamanegama – Coach