Sri Lanka under 19s win the youth ODI series


Sri Lanka Under 19 cricket team won the deciding 5th  youth ODI match and Secured the Trophy against Bangladesh Under 19 cricket team in Mirpur . Sri Lanka under 19s led by Cambrian Kusal Mendis won the 5th youth ODI match by 62 runs and won the series 3-2.

Young cricketers from Sri Lanka showed their class and bravery by turning around things quite perfectly to win the series after trailing during the half way stage of the series.

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to field on a cloudy day after a slight delay due to inclement weather. Bangladesh bowlers justified their captain’s decision by striking early as Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals but the batting revolved around Roshan Anuruddha who scored an elegant half century. Dinuk Wickramanayaka and Minod Bhanuka chipped in with valuable scores for the visitors.  Rifath Pradhan and Mehedy Hasan excelled with the ball for the home team.  Sri Lankans were eventually bowled out for 185 runs in 46.4 overs.

Chasing only 186 runs to win the series decider, Bangladesh  batting struggled to counter the well disciplined and perfectly executed Sri Lankan bowling and lost all their wickets in 36 overs and could only put up a mere 123 runs on the score card.

Off spinner Ramesh Mendis excelled for the visitors by taking 3 wickets for 24 runs. Binura Fernando took 2 vital wickets as well. Mehedy Hasan was the only batsman who looked settled on the middle for the Bangladeshis as he top scored with 37 runs. Sri Lankan juniors deserve this win as they had top class and talented players in their ranks. Sri Lanka Cricket looks bright for the future.

Man of the Match – Roshan Anurudda

Scores in brief : 

Sri Lanka under 19s – 185 all out in 46.4 overs : Roshan Anurudda 50, Dinuk Wickramanayaka 32, Minod Bhanuka 37, Rifath Pradhan 3/29, Mehedy Hasan 2/24.

Bangladesh under 19s – 123 all out in 36 overs : Mehedy Hasan 37, Binura Fernando 2/17, Ramesh Mendis 3/24. 

Commendable Performers for the Junior Lions During the Youth ODI Series

Ramesh Mendis  – 11 wickets in 3 matches

Binura Fernando – 11 wickets in 5 matches

Sandun Weerakkody – 199 runs in 5 matches

Kusal Mendis – 161 runs in 5 matches

Sadeera Samarawickrama – 117 in 3 matches

Roshan Anurudda – 5 wickets and 78 runs in 4 matches

Chamika Karunarathne – 6 wickets and  77 runs in 5 matches