Sri Lanka squad announced for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2024

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2024


The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee has announced a 15-member national women’s squad to take part in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier 2024.

Chamari Athapaththi will lead the Sri Lankan contingent as usual. All the players except for Shashini Gimhani were part of Sri Lanka squad who are currently engaged in a white-ball series against South Africa.

The 15-yeard old left-arm wrist-spinner Gimhani earns her maiden callup to the national team following her impressive run with the ball in the recent Women’s Under-19 Tri-Nation Series against England and Australia, where she picked up 7 wickets.

The tournament will take place from April 25th to May 7th, 2024, in Abu Dhabi. The Global Qualifier has 10 teams: Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uganda, UAE, USA, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

The 10 teams will compete for two spots in the main event – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in Bangladesh later in the year. All ten teams have been divided into two groups of five.

 Group A: Sri Lanka, Thailand, Scotland, Uganda, USA

 Group B: Ireland, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, UAE, Vanuatu

The Sri Lanka team will reach Abu Dhabi directly from South Africa, where the team is currently engaged in a white ball tour.

Sri Lanka Women’s Squad

  • Chamari Athapaththu – Captain
  • Vishmi Gunaratne
  • Nilakshi de Silva
  • Harshitha Samarawickrama
  • Kavisha Dilhari
  • Hasini Perera
  • Anushka Sanjeewani
  • Udeshika Prabodhani
  • Inoka Ranaweera
  • Achini Kulasuriya
  • Hansima Karunaratne
  • Kawya Kavindi
  • Inoshi Fernando
  • Sugandika Kumari
  • Sashini Gimhani