Sri Lanka shines at South Asia Regional Junior Badminton Championship

South Asia Regional Junior Badminton Championship


Sri Lanka’s junior badminton squad returned home last Sunday after bagging a massive win at the South Asia Regional Junior Badminton Championship in Guwahati, India. Our young campaigners won 2 silver medals and seven bronze medals from individual events and secured the runner-up title in team events.

Assam Badminton Association in collaboration with Asia Badminton and Badminton Association India initiated this tournament. Players from Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, India and Bangladesh made their presence in this encounter.

The finals of this encounter was held at DeshbhaktaTarunram Phookan Indoor Stadium at RC Barooah Sports Complex in the North Eastern Indian city. Hosts India secured the Championship title in both under 15 and under 17 age groups whilst Sri Lanka secured the runner-up.

The under-15 team defeated Maldives in their first match (5-0) going forward they defeated Nepal (5-0) and Bhutan (5-0) in their group stages. The under 17 team also trounced Bhutan (5-0), Nepal (5-0) and Maldives (5-0) before their loss to India (0-5).

Mihila Jayaweera and Nethmi Ratnayake secured the bronze medal after loosing to Koundilya Prateek and Bhatoye Naishaa Kaur of India in the semi-finals [21-14,21-16]. Thejana Herath and Pawani Illepermaarachchi booked their spot in the finals and played against Garg Abinav and Andluri Tanvi of India. India dominated the match with a score line of 21-9, 21-7. Jayaweera and Herath were knocked out from the quarter-finals stage in the boys under 15 singles.

Illapermaarachchi and Rathnayake secured the silver in the un15 girls’ doubles finals whilst Wellalage and Samararathne secured the silver in the un17 boys’ doubles finals. The two young ladies, Jayawardana and Liyanage also secured a podium spot in un17 girls’ doubles winning the silver medal for team Sri Lanka.

Shenuk Samararathne won the bronze medal in the boys’ un17 singles.

Under 15 team – Mihila Jayaweera, Thejana Herath, Nethmi Rathnayake and Pawani Illepermaarachchi

Under 17 team – Pulina Wellalage, Shenuk Samarathne, Ranithma Liyanage, Varangana Jayawardena