Bangladesh too good for Sri Lanka President’s XI


Bangladesh overcame Sri Lanka President’s XI by 41 runs in their T20 warm up game played at the CCC grounds today.

Sri Lanka President’s XI captain Dananjaya De Silva won the toss and opted to bowl as Bangladesh lost their opener Soumya Sarkar to a superb Asitha Fernando delivery for a duck.

U19 youth player Jehan Danial soon removed Sabbir Rahman for 1 as the visitors fell to 14 for 2 in the early stages of the game.

After early trouble, Litton Das (41), Mahamudullah (43) and wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim (65) counterattacked the Lankans as they posted an excellent 186 in their 20 overs.

Seamer Asitha Fernando was impressive with the ball, claiming 2 for 22 in his 4 overs, while 19-year-old Josephian skipper Jehan Daniel and all-rounder Thikshila DeSilva took a wicket apiece.

Sri Lanka caps Lahiru Kumara and Jeffrey Vandersay went for plenty as the President’s XI were set 187 to win in their 20 overs.

Niroshan Dickwella went on his merry way with his favorites shots, but his cut-shot went straight to the point fielder as Rubel Hossain opened the Bangladeshi wickets tally.

Dickwella departed for a 13-ball 27 and Dilshan Munaweera, Sadeera Samarawickrama and skipper Dananjaya De silva failed to impress the selectors, being dismissed cheaply as the hosts were 82 for 4 after 10 overs.

The hosts needed 105 runs to win in the last 10 overs but the remaining batsmen faltered as Bangladesh claimed a 41-run win over the Sri Lanka President’s XI.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka XI


(19 overs)




(20 overs)

Bangaladesh won by 41 Runs

Sri Lanka XI’s Innings

N.Dickwella c Sabbir Rahman b Rubel Hossain2713
D.Munaweera c Nurul Hasan b Abu Hider109
S.Samarawickrama c Ariful Haque b Nazmul Islam811
D.De.Silva (runout) Nazmul Islam149
A.Perera b Soumya Sarkar2218
L.Milantha c Abu Hider b Taskin Ahmed1918
T.De.Silva c Mushfiqur Rahim b Mehidy Hasan Miraz48
J.Daniel not out1014
A.Bandara (runout)73
J.Vandersay c Nurul Hasan b Rubel Hossain14
L.Sandakan c Mehidy Hasan Miraz b Taskin Ahmed139
145/10 (19 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-28, 2-42, 3-57, 4-66, 5-94, 6-107, 7-113, 8-122, 9-124,10-145
Abu Jayed20280 14.00
A.Hider40351 8.75
Rubel Hossain30192 6.33
T.Ahmed30162 5.33
Soumya Sarkar20171 8.50
Nazmul Islam1031 3.00
Ariful Haque1080 8.00
M.Hasan20101 5.00
Mahmudullah1080 8.00

Bangladesh’s Innings

L.Das c Lahiru Milantha b Thiksila De Silva4018
Soumya Sarkar b Asitha Fernando01
S.Rahman c Asitha Fernando b Jehan Daniel110
Mushfiqur Rahim † c Jeffery Vandersay b Lahiru Kumara6544
Mahmudullah b Asitha Fernando4327
Ariful Haque not out1512
N.Hasan not out129
186/5 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-3, 2-14, 3-66, 4-140, 5-167
A.Fernando40222 5.50
J.Daniel20141 7.00
L kumara40501 12.50
J.Vandersay40390 9.75
T.De.Silva20101 5.00
L.Sandakan40500 12.50