Sri Lanka announce 22-man squad for South Africa series

South Africa tour of Sri Lanka 2021


Sri Lanka Cricket have announced a 22-member squad for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against South Africa, which starts on the 2nd of September. 

Dasun Shanaka will continue to lead the team with Dhananjaya De Silva as his vice-captain.

Wicket-keeper batsman Kusal Perera, who missed both the ODIs and T20Is against India, due to a shoulder injury has been named in the squad. However, Perera will likely not feature in the ODIs since he is reportedly still recovering from Covid-19.

Read: South Africa tour of Sri Lanka schedule released

Left-arm seamer Binura Fernando, has also recovered from his ankle injury and has been named in the squad. He could not play any part in the India series. 

Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwan Pradeep, Kamindu Mendis and Lahiru Madushanka have all earned a recall to the national team having performed exceptionally well in the Dialog-SLC Invitational T20 League.

Hub: Sri Lanka v South Africa 2021

Uncapped spin duo, Maheesh Theekshana and Pulina Tharanga have earned maiden callups. Both Theekshana and Tharanga played pivotal roles with the ball for their respective teams in the Dialog-SLC Invitational T20 League. 

Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya Lakshan and Lakshan Sandakan have been axed from the squad despite featuring against the touring Indian team last month.

Read: 30-man squad for limited over series against Proteas named

The three-match ODI series will be a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, while the three T20Is will provide a perfect opportunity for the islanders to test their combinations ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in October/November. 

Sri Lanka Squad for South Africa ODIs and T20Is

Batsmen – Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis

Wicket-Keeper Batsmen – Minod Bhanuka, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal

All-Rounders – Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka

Fast Bowlers – Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando

Spinners – Akila Dananjaya, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Pulina Tharanga

Sri Lanka vs South Africa fixtures

1st ODI – 2nd September

2nd ODI – 4th September

3rd ODI – 7th September

1st T20I – 10th September

2nd T20I – 12th September

3rd T20I – 14th September

For more crickte news…