Middle order woes continue for Lankan women

ICC Women's Championship – Sri Lanka Women’s tour of South Africa


The 2nd of the 3 Women’s Championship ODIs between Sri Lanka and South Africa finished in disappointing fashion for the visitors as they fell short by 30 runs (D/L Method), thereby conceding the series to the Proteas.

After losing the 1st Women’s ODI a couple of days back, Sri Lanka Women once again decided to chase against South Africa on what looked to be a batting friendly track in Potchefstroom.

The Proteas got off to a commendable start, posting 52 runs for the opening stand. Inoka Ranaweera made the breakthrough in the 9th over, picking up Andrie Steyn for 24 runs. Laura Wolvaardt together with Lara Goodall consolidated the middle overs for South Africa with fifty plus scores. The Lankan bowlers looked disciplined at first but leaked a lot of runs during the mid-stages of the innings. Teenage sensation Kavisha Dilhari gave the Lankans something to cheer about, picking up two wickets and an excellent runout to leave the Proteas in some disarray.

Spirited Lankan women’s efforts go to waste in the final over

After a whitewash in the T20 series the new look Sri Lankan women’s outfit gave a good fight to the Proteas before…

Marizanne Kapp’s innings of 69 off 34 balls was the highlight of the Protea innings as she single-handedly took South Africa to a respectable total of 268 for the loss of 7 wickets. Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Attapattu was expensive in the final few overs as she went for 34 runs in her three overs.

Sri Lanka women had the tough task of chasing 269 in their allocated 50 overs ahead of them. Chamari Attapattu and Prasadani Weerakkody gave Sri Lanka a dream start, positing 71 runs for the opening stand at a steady run rate of over five runs an over. Attapattu’s flashy cover drives were a treat to watch as the Lankans looked in complete control of the game.

Read More: South Africa seal the series despite Sri Lanka’s valiant fight

Anushka Sanjeewani joined Attapattu at the crease at 71 for the loss of one but unfortunately Attapattu fell six runs shorts of her century at a crucial time to give South Africa the opening they needed.  The rain interruptions did not help the Lankan cause as the wickets kept tumbling. The Proteas were on their tip toes in the field as they ran out four batters bowling out Sri Lanka for 231 in the penultimate over of the Lankan innings.

Marizanne Kapp was adjudged Player of the Match for her all-round performance, scoring 64 runs in the crucial final overs of the match and picking up 2 wickets for 41 runs in her 9 overs.

Sri Lanka have a daunting task ahead of them in the 3rd Women’s ODI on the 17th of February at Potchefstroom as they look to finish the tour on a high.


Full Scorecard

South Africa Women


(50 overs)


Sri Lanka Women


(46.2 overs)

SAW won by 30 runs (DLS)

South Africa Women’s Innings

Batting R B
Andrie Steyn lbw by I Ranaweera 24 40
Laura Wolvaardt c P Weerakkody b S Siriwardene 64 69
Lara Goodall c O Ranasinghe b K Dilhari 52 77
Mignon du Preez c H Madavi b K Dilhari 5 11
Sune Luus (runout) K Dilhari 16 26
Nadine de Klerk b O Ranasinghe 15 24
Marizanne Kapp not out 69 34
Faye Tunnicliffe st P Weerakkody b C Athapatthu 15 19
8 (b 4, w 4)
268/7 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-71 (A Steyn, 14.0 ov), 2-106 (L Wolvaardt, 24.3 ov), 3-115 (du Preez, 27.2 ov), 4-139 (S Luus, 33.2 ov), 5-175 (N Klerk, 40.3 ov), 6-183 (L Goodall, 41.5 ov), 7-268 (F Tunnicliffe, 49.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W E
Achini Kulasuriya 5 1 28 0 5.60
Udeshika Prabodhani 4 0 27 0 6.75
Oshadi Ranasinghe 8 0 47 1 5.88
Chamari Athapatthu 3 0 34 1 11.33
Inoka Ranaweera 10 1 52 1 5.20
Shashikala Siriwardene 10 0 42 1 4.20
Kavisha Dilhari 10 0 34 2 3.40

Sri Lanka Women’s Innings

Batting R B
Prasadini Weerakkody c M du Preez b M Kapp 2 6
Chamari Athapatthu c F Tunnicliffe b S Luus 94 78
Anushka Sanjeewani b M Kapp 46 68
Harshitha Madavi c F Tunnicliffe b T Sekhukhune 30 36
Shashikala Siriwardena (runout) L Wolvaardt 0 1
Nilakshi de Silva c L Wolvaardt b T Sekhukhune 26 48
Oshadi Ranasinghe (runout) L Wolvaardt 2 6
Kavisha Dilhari c F Tunnicliffe b S Ismail 16 15
Achini Kulasuriya (runout) S Luus 5 10
Udeshika Prabodhani (runout) F Tunnicliffe 0 7
Inoka Ranaweera not out 0 4
10 (lb 3, nb 1, w 6)
231/10 (46.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-23 (PM Weerakkody, 3.2 ov), 2-133 (AC Jayangani, 22.1 ov), 3-163 (MAA Sanjeewani, 27.5 ov), 4-163 (HASD Siriwardene, 27.6 ov), 5-190 (H Madavi, 35.2 ov), 6-207 (OU Ranasinghe, 39.4 ov), 7-213 (NND de Silva, 41.1 ov), 8-219 (WGAKK Kulasuriya, 43.1 ov), 9-225 (KDU Prabodhani, 44.5 ov), 10-231 (WK Dilhari, 46.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W E
Shabnim Ismail 8.2 1 26 1 3.17
Marizanne Kapp 9 0 41 2 4.56
Tumi Sekhukhune 10 0 55 2 5.50
Masabata Klaas 7 0 51 0 7.29
Sune Luus 10 0 38 1 3.80
Nadine de Klerk 2 0 17 0 8.50