Sri Lanka lost the 3rd T20I of the series as they fell short of the massive 198 target set by South Africa at the Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg. Sri Lanka’s innings was interrupted by the rain for more than half an hour and they were given a revised target of 183 runs from 17 overs to chase but couldn’t do the needful as their middle order collapsed for the umpteenth time on tour.

3rd T20I Preview: Sri Lanka look to avoid 3-0 sweep

Sri Lanka skipper Lasith Malinga won the toss and elected to bowl first in a bid to avoid their 8th straight loss of the series. Interestingly, Sri Lanka decided to use one extra bowler at the expense of a batsman as Kusal Mendis sat out for Suranga Lakmal.

South Africa made two changes to their side too. Last game’s half-centurion Rassie van der Dussen and veteran pacer Dale Steyn were benched for all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo and right arm fast bowler Junior Dala.

The South African openers were casual in the powerplay as they easily made 37 runs for the loss of one wicket in the first six overs. Aiden Markram was caught at mid-on by Malinga off Suranga Lakaml’s bowling for 15.

All-rounder Dwaine Pretorius was promoted up at the order to accompany Reeza Hendricks and the duo enjoyed batting together, taking busy singles while smashing the loose deliveries for maximums.

Sri Lanka’s ground fielding and catching were really scrappy and it helped the South African batsmen to get off to a flier.

2nd T20I: Isuru Udana nearly pulls off impossible chase

Henricks and Pretorios added 90 runs in 9.1 overs, punishing the Sri Lankan spinners to every corner of the ground before the former was bowled by a full delivery off Jeffrey Vandersay’s bowling when he was looking ominous on 66; that was the only wicket Sri Lanka could produce for rest of the innings.

Dwaine Pretorius launched a scintillating innings from thereon, as he stole 3 sixes and 7 fours from 42 balls to compile a blazing 77 runs to take South Africa to 198. Captain JP Duminy added the finishing touches with a 14 ball 34.

Chasing a massive 199, Sri Lanka promoted Dhananjaya de Silva to open with Niroshan Dickwella and it almost worked!

The pair produced a blistering start for Sri Lanka, adding 42 runs in 4.1 overs. Niroshan Dickwella was the main contributor as he shuffled around the crease to find his usual groove.

Photos: Sri Lanka vs South Africa – 3rd T20I

Dickwella made a useful 38 runs off 22 balls before miscuing a short ball from Andile Phehlukwayo. After his dismissal, the Sri Lanka middle order collapsed spectacularly. Avishka Fernando, Kamindu Mendis and Angelo Perera failed to bother the scorers much as Sri Lanka went from 42-0 to 79-5 in just 4.3 overs.

Thisara Perera had to pay the price with his wicket trying to steal a single, taking on Hendricks’ arm. Sri Lanka were reduced to 111/6 in the 11.1 overs before the rains came down.

Play was halted for more than half an hour and Sri Lanka were given a revised target of 183 in 17 overs. So Sri Lanka (or basically the only recognized batsman Isuru Udana) had to get 72 runs from 35 balls.

Video: Isuru Udana has been a revelation – Russel Arnold

But the target seemed to be too much for the fighting Udana as he was dismissed for 36 runs off 23 balls trying to clear long-off.

Sri Lanka were quickly wrapped up after Udana’s dismissal as they were all out for 137 granting the hosts a 45-run win in the last T20I.

The hero with the bat Dwaine Pretorius was named the Player of the Match for his performances with the bat and the ball too. Reeza Hendricks was given the Player of the Series award for his 2 fifties in 3 T20Is.

The 40-day long tour of South Africa has concluded for the visitors after having been out of home since December last year. Their next international assignment will be against Scotland before they start their World Cup campaign.

>>Visit the #SAvSL 2019 Hub<<


Full Scorecard

South Africa


(20 overs)


Sri Lanka


(15.4 overs)

SA won by 45 runs (D/L)

South Africa’s Innings

Batting R B
Aiden Markram c L Malinga b S Lakmal 15 12
Reeza Hendricks b J Vandersay 66 52
Dwaine Pretorius not out 77 42
JP Duminy not out 34 14
6 (lb 2, w 4)
198/2 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-37 (AK Markram, 5.5 ov), 2-127 (RR Hendricks, 14.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W E
Lasith Malinga 4 0 40 0 10.00
Isuru Udana 4 0 36 0 9.00
Dhananjaya de Silva 1 0 5 0 5.00
Suranga Lakmal 4 0 38 1 9.50
Akila Dananjaya 4 0 42 0 10.50
Jeffrey Vandersay 3 0 35 1 11.67

Sri Lanka’s Innings

Batting R B
Niroshan Dickwella c S Qeshile b A Phehlukwayo 38 22
Dhananjaya de Silva lbw by D Pretorius 8 9
Avishka Fernando lbw by A Phehlukwayo 1 3
Kamindu Mendis c D Miller b J Dala 1 2
Angelo Perera c D Miller b J Dala 15 10
Thisara Perera (runout) R Hendricks 8 8
Isuru Udana c D Miller b A Phehlukwayo 36 23
Akila Dananjaya c R Hendricks b L Sipamla 9 11
Lasith Malinga c C Morris b A Phehlukwayo 0 4
Suranga Lakmal b L Sipamla 0 3
Jeffrey Vandersay not out 0 0
21 (lb 8, nb 1, w 12)
137/10 (15.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-42 (DM de Silva, 4.1 ov), 2-55 (N Dickwella, 5.2 ov), 3-57 (WIA Fernando, 5.5 ov), 4-61 (PHKD Mendis, 6.1 ov), 5-79 (AK Perera, 8.4 ov), 6-96 (NLTC Perera, 10.3 ov), 7-137 (I Udana, 14.2 ov), 8-137 (SL Malinga, 14.6 ov), 9-137 (A Dananjaya, 15.1 ov), 10-137 (RAS Lakmal, 15.4 ov)
Bowling O M R W E
Chris Morris 3 0 22 0 7.33
Junior Dala 3 0 29 2 9.67
Andile Phehlukwayo 3 0 24 4 8.00
Dwaine Pretorius 1 0 12 1 12.00
Tabraiz Shamsi 4 0 20 0 5.00
Lutho Sipamla 1.4 0 22 2 15.71