Mendis, Fernando seal a historic win at Port Elizabeth

Sri Lanka tour of South Africa 2019 | 2nd Test – Day 03

Kusal Mendis & Oshada Fernando

Sri Lanka have rewritten the history books after a comfortable win at Port Elizabeth, beating hosts South Africa by 8 wickets to become the third country ever to hand South Africa a series win in their own backyard after Australia and England. The final touches of the 2-0 whitewash were applied by Kusal Mendis and Oshada Fernando with stylish knocks of 84 and 75 respectively.

To start today’s play, the overnight pair, Mendis and Fernando walked into the middle to chase down the target of 197 runs, with Sri Lanka on 60/2 and another 137 runs needed to record a special win.

Read More: Bowlers keep Sri Lanka believing in the impossible

Both batsmen looked positive and confident as they never shied away from the pace of Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn and Duanne Olivier, who regularly touched 145kph with a mix of good length and short pitched bowling. They chose correct lines to leave, defend and attack as the scorers were kept busy.

When the seamers were made to look ineffective by the Fernando-Mendis duo’s exceptional approach, South Africa captain Faf du Plessis had to throw the ball to spinner Keshav Maharaj to slow things down. But the Sri Lankan pair used their crease to negate the spin with fine footwork.

Photos : Sri Lanka vs South Africa 2nd Test 2019 | Day 3 | 23/02/2019 | Editing and re-using images without permission of…

Mendis announced himself back into form after a rough patch of scores, with a counter-attacking fifty, filled with glorious drives on either side of the wicket. Fernando, playing just his second Test match, showed a great amount of grace and elegance with his eye-catching strokeplay, taking on the Protea bowlers courageously. Fernando reached his maiden fifty in just 69 balls with a wristy whip to the mid-wicket boundary off Maharaj’s bowling.

Read More: Lakmal wants Embuldeniya to bat if situation demands

Sri Lanka’s premium spinner for the Test match, Lasith Embuldeniya was injured when he tried to hold on to a catch off his own bowling and will be out of action for six weeks as he dislocated his thumb. But he was seen in the dressing room, practicing his shots, a sign that he was available for batting if needed.

After the 100-run partnership between Mendis and Fernando, they never looked like getting out and the opposition looked out of the game with negative body language.

The required 137 runs were chased down in the morning session with ease as Mendis & Fernando compiled an unbeaten 163 run partnership to guide Sri Lanka to a famous and unexpected win.

Dimuth Karunaratne, the stand-in captain of Sri Lanka will go down in the history books as the 4th captain to lead a side to back to back Test wins in South Africa and the first Sri Lankan captain to lead a team to a Test series in South Africa.


Full Scorecard

South Africa

222/10 & 128/10

(44.3 overs)


Sri Lanka

154/10 & 197/2

(45.4 overs)

SL won by 8 wickets

South Africa’s 1st Innings

Dean Elgar b V Fernando613
Aiden Markram lbw by K Rajitha60116
Hashim Amla b V Fernando01
Temba Bavuma (runout) K Rajitha02
Faf du Plessis b D Karunarathne2560
Quinton de Kock b D De Silva8687
Wiaan Mulder lbw by K Rajitha99
Keshav Maharaj c N Dickwella b K Rajitha05
Kagiso Rabada c N Dickwella b D De Silva2265
Dale Steyn not out311
Dane Olivier c N Dickwella b V Fernando03
11 (lb 6, nb 4, b 1)
222/10 (61.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-15 (D Elgar, 5.3 ov), 2-15 (H Amla, 5.4 ov), 3-15 (T Bavuma, 6.3 ov), 4-73 (du Plessis, 26.5 ov), 5-130 (A Markram, 37.2 ov), 6-145 (W Mulder, 39.6 ov), 7-157 (K Maharaj, 41.6 ov), 8-216 (de Kock, 58.2 ov), 9-221 (K Rabada, 60.4 ov), 10-222 (D Olivier, 61.2 ov)
Suranga Lakmal132330 2.54
Vishwa Fernando18.22623 3.41
Kasun Rajitha152673 4.47
Lasith Embuldeniya5.30260 4.91
Dimuth Karunarathne4.31121 2.79
Dhananjaya de Silva50152 3.00

Sri Lanka’s 1st Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne c de Kock b K Rabada1742
Lahiru Thirimanne c & b D Olivier2963
Oshada Fernando b D Olivier09
Kusal Mendis c de Kock b D Olivier1615
Kasun Rajitha b K Rabada110
Kusal Janith c de Kock b K Rabada2015
Dhananjaya de Silva c de Kock b W Mulder1924
Niroshan Dickwella c D Elgar b K Rabada4236
Suranga Lakmal lbw by K Maharaj714
Vishwa Fernando not out00
Lasith Embuldeniya not out00
3 (lb 1, nb 2)
154/10 (37.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-25 (D Karunarathne, 11.4 ov), 2-34 (O Fernando, 14.5 ov), 3-59 (K Mendis, 18.6 ov), 4-64 (L Thirimanne, 22.2 ov), 5-66 (K Rajitha, 23.5 ov), 6-97 (K Janith, 27.1 ov), 7-128 (D De Silva, 32.3 ov), 8-154 (S Lakmal, 36.6 ov), 9-154 (N Dickwella, 37.4 ov)
Dale Steyn102390 3.90
Kagiso Rabada12.43384 3.06
Dane Olivier101613 6.10
Wiaan Mulder3261 2.00
Keshav Maharaj2091 4.50

South Africa’s 2nd Innings

Aiden Markram c O Fernando b K Rajitha1827
Dean Elgar c N Dickwella b V Fernando217
Hashim Amla c K Mendis b D De Silva3272
Temba Bavuma c N Dickwella b K Rajitha625
Faf du Plessis not out5070
Quinton de Kock c & b S Lakmal17
Wiaan Mulder c K Mendis b D De Silva58
Keshav Maharaj lbw by S Lakmal617
Kagiso Rabada c K Mendis b S Lakmal08
Dale Steyn c L Thirimanne b D De Silva04
Dane Olivier lbw by S Lakmal613
2 (lb 1, nb 1)
128/10 (44.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-10 (D Elgar, 5.2 ov), 2-31 (A Markram, 9.6 ov), 3-51 (T Bavuma, 19.6 ov), 4-90 (H Amla, 29.3 ov), 5-91 (de Kock, 30.4 ov), 6-100 (W Mulder, 33.3 ov), 7-113 (K Maharaj, 38.4 ov), 8-115 (K Rabada, 40.3 ov), 9-116 (D Steyn, 41.2 ov), 10-128 (D Olivier, 44.3 ov)
Suranga Lakmal16.33394 2.39
Vishwa Fernando101321 3.20
Kasun Rajitha71202 2.86
Dhananjaya de Silva111363 3.27

Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings

Dimuth Karunarathne c de Kock b D Olivier1931
Lahiru Thirimanne c de Kock b K Rabada1027
Oshada Fernando not out75106
Kusal Mendis not out84110
9 (lb 5, b 4)
197/2 (45.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-32 (L Thirimanne, 9.2 ov), 2-34 (D Karunarathne, 10.1 ov)
Dale Steyn80380 4.75
Kagiso Rabada152531 3.53
Dane Olivier122461 3.83
Wiaan Mulder4160 1.50
Keshav Maharaj6.40450 7.03