SLSRFA Under 19 School’s Elite Rugby 7s 2023 – Groups| Fixtures & Format 

SLSRFA Under 19 School’s Elite Rugby 7s 2023


The Under 19 School’s Elite Rugby 7s Competition, organized by the Sri Lanka School’s Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA), will involve the elite Rugby playing schools in the country and will be worked out at Havelock Park & the Royal Complex on the 10th & 11th of April respectively. 

The tournament draw was held virtually yesterday (7th), with the participation of representatives of the school teams and the tournament organizing committee members from the SLSRFA.

The competition will see 22 schools teams taking the field in pursuit of the elite silverware. The notable absentees are Royal College, Trinity College, S. Thomas’ College, Science College and Zahira College, who have opted out of the tournament due to injury concerns and various other unavoidable circumstances.

The first-round games will be played out at the Havelock Park on the 10th, with the second-round action set to move to Royal Complex on the 11th of April, where the teams will compete for Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield Championships.

The teams have been grouped into eight groups, with six groups consisting of three teams, while two groups will feature two teams. The joint champions of last year’s Under 19 Division 01 7s Competition – Vidyartha College and D. S. Senanayake College – will get the advantage of having an easy run, having been drawn into the two groups consisting of just two teams, and will only have one game on Day 01.

Group A – Vidyartha College, Thurstan College 

Group B – St. Joseph’s College, Lumbini College, St. Sylvester’s College 

Group C – Kingswood College, St. Benedict’s College, Devapathiraja College 

Group D – Isipathana College, St. Aloysius’ College, Moratu Vidyalaya 

Group E – Dharamaraja College, Sri Sumangala College, St. John’s College 

Group F – St. Anthony’s College, Maliyadeva College, Siri Piyarathana College

Group G – Wesley College, St. Peter’s College, Piliyandala Central College

Group H – D. S. Senanayake College, Ananda College

DAY 01 Fixture 

With only 22 teams competing in the competition, every team will receive an opportunity to vie for some silverware.  The top eight teams in each group will compete in the Cup Quarter-finals, with the winners proceeding to the Cup Semi-finals, while the losing teams will feature in the Plate Semi-finals. The second seeded teams from each group will compete in the Bowl Quarter-final, while the bottom seed will compete in the Shield Quarter-finals.

All games of  the  SLSRFA Under 19 School’s Elite Rugby 7s 2023 will be telecasted live and exclusively on Sri Lanka’s #1 Sports Hub Watch