Cops looking to arrest the top spot of the League

Nippon Club Rugby League 2022/23


Police Sports Club will be looking to improve from where they left off in the 2021/22 season and will be looking to claim the elusive Club Rugby league title in the 2022/23 season with a fresh outlook.

Having clinched their maiden Club Rugby title in 1970 as shared winners alongside Havelock Sports Club, Police SC have won a total of 12 League championships. They were the most dominant Rugby team in the Island in the 80s, having managed to win the league 7 times, going back-to-back from 1984- 1989 becoming champions for six consecutive years. The last title triumph for Police SC came in 1991.

>> Photos – Police SC Rugby Team Preview 2022/23

After an encouraging 2021/22 season where Police SC were placed 4th with two games to spare in the regular season, the Cops will be looking to finish strong with a top row finish this time around.

Forward Nisal Samadhi has been handed the responsibility of leading the cops this season with the famed National Sevens & St. Joseph’s College coach Nilfer Ibrahim handed the Head Coaching responsibilities. Old Wesliete and former national player Dulanjana Wijesinghe will function as the Assistant coach of the outfit with Mohommad Azmi as the trainer of the side.

>> Photos – CH & FC Rugby Team Preview 2022/23

Police SC will bank on the experienced campaigners to lead the way with the likes of skipper Samadhi, former skippers Udara Suriyapperuma, Rasith Silva and Mohan Wimalaratne in the forwards who will be expected to provide stability against the bigger opponents. National represent at the recent seven a side tours, center Akash Madushanka will be a player to keep an eye out on as he holds the ability to penetrate the defensive lines of the opponents with ease. Police will also bank on the experience of half back Primesh Perera, Prince Chamara, Vihannga Pivithuru and Sachith Silva to add some spice in their back line.

Police SC Rugby Squad 2022/23

Wimukthi Perera, Sameera Jayasinghe, Mohomad Deen, Shanaka Harischandra, H D Kumarasiri, A M Navanjana, Eshan Molagoda, Amjad Faumy, Pradeep Kumara, Kusal Samdhi, Vidusha Weerasinghe, Dhanushka Edirisuriya, Udaya Sanjula, Rasith Silva, Vihanga Shaveen, Hafeez Thabeeth, Kavishka Kavinda, Deshan Fernando, P D Nilusha Fernando, Hashan Fernando, Mohan Wimalaratne, Udara Suriyapperuma, Kasun Rajakaruna, Praveen Stefan, Rukshan Madushanka, SHaveen Jayawardane, Shirantha Kaluarachchi, Sachindra Madulanka, Yohan Peiris, Manilka Shehan, Tharaka Fernando, Janith Chanaka, Primesh Perera, Neshaka Prasanjana, Matheesha Perera, Navod Chethana, Tuan Shifan Amath, Akash Madushanka, Lahiru Thilakarathne, Achintha Kaushalya, Prince Chamara, Vihanga Pivithuru, Shane Hopewood, Kosala Pahalagama, Sujan Kodiruwakku, Sachith Silva

Police SC will face Navy SC in the season opener at Welisara on the 9th of December, 2022

Police SC first round fixtures  

09th Dec 2022 Friday                      Navy SC vs Police SC        Welisara               4.00pm

16th Dec 2022 Friday                      Army SC vs Police SC       Panagoda            4.00pm

30th Dec 2022 Friday                      CR & FC vs Police SC        Longdon Place   4.00pm

06th Jan 2023 Friday                       Air Force SC vs Police SC Rathmalana       4.00pm

14th Jan 2023 Saturday                 Police SC vs Kandy SC      Police Park          4.00pm

21th Jan 2022 Saturday                 Havelock SC vs Police SC Havelock Park   4.00pm

28th Jan 2022 Saturday                 Police SC vs CH & FC        Police Park          4.00pm