New look Gymkhana Club striving to bring back past glory

Nippon Club Rugby League 2022/23


Colombo Hockey and Football Club more fondly known as CH&FC will be fielding a new look side for the 2022/23 club rugby season with a mix of experience and youth in the squad.

A dominant force in the local rugby during the 80s & the 90s, CH&FC have won a total of 10 titles. Their last success in the league came over the decades ago in year 2000 where they were the winners of  the Caltex Rugby league.

>> Photos – Police SC Rugby Team Preview 2022/23

CH&FC which boasted of a promising squad in the 2021/22 season that was packed with big named players and managed to finish third in the league behind Kandy SC and Havelock SC respectively.

>> Photos – CH & FC Rugby Team Preview 2022/23

Former Isipathana and Havelocks Sports Club Hooker Prasath Madushanka has been handed the responsibility of skippering the ship for the gymkhana club with Asanga Rodrigo as the Head Coach assisted by Dhanushka Botheju who will be in charge of the forwards.

The Gymkhana club will be banking on the some of their experienced campaigners in the likes of skipper Prasath Madushanka, Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Sudarshana Muthuthanthri, Janidu Dilshan, Avishka & Avantha Lee, Yositha & Rohitha Rajapakshe to lead the way during the season.

Some of the standout performers at the recently concluded Dialog Schools Rugby league and some exciting young talent have also been acquired by CH&FC and will be hoping that the younglings hit the ground running during the season.  Soorya Dodangoda, Venura Kodagoda and Malith Mihisara of the league and Clifford cup wining  Isipathana outfit will be players to watch out for alongside Johan Ogbebor of Wesley College who will most probably don the #12 jersey.

CH&FC Rugby Squad 2022/23 –

Prasath Madushanka, Avantha Lee, Avishka Lee, Janidu Dilshan, Yoshihtha Rajapakse, Vishwa Kiriella, Ovin Hettiarachchi, Chamath Kilan, Maliksha Perera, Malith Mihisara, Ishara Liyanage, Hirusha Sampath, Rohitha Rajapakshe, Johann Ogbebor, Thanuja Dilshan, Deron De Silva, Maleesha Thirangama, Sammika Madhushan, Hirun Gunarathne, Nisal Chamuditha, Nilakna Dassanayake, Sandun Gunawardana, Malinga Shehan, Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Venura Kodagoda, Chethiya De Zoysa, Sudarshana Muthuthanthri, Chathuka Wijesekara, Soorya Dodangoda, Yohan Fernando, Danushka Malitha, Mohomad Akeel, Shehan Silva

CH&FC will Commence their campaign against the Airmen on the 11th of December at Airforce grounds

CH&FC first round fixtures  

11th Dec 2022 Sunday                   Air Force SC vs CH & FC               Rathmalana        4.00pm

18th Dec 2022 Sunday                   CH & FC vs Navy SC                      Race Course       4.00pm

30th Dec 2022 Friday                     CH & FC vs Army SC                     Race Course        4.00pm

07th Jan 2023 Saturday                 CH & FC vs CR & FC                      Race Course       4.00pm

14th Jan 2023 Saturday                 CH & FC vs Havelock SC              Race Course        4.00pm

21st Jan 2022 Saturday                  CH & FC vs Kandy SC                   Race Course        4.00pm

28th Jan 2022 Saturday                 Police SC vs CH & FC                    Police Park          4.00pm