Home Cricket Lasith Malinga returns from Mumbai to record career best figures

Lasith Malinga returns from Mumbai to record career best figures

SLC Super Provincial Tournament


Lasith Malinga who shined with the ball for the Mumbai Indians in their win last night (03) in the Indian Premier League (IPL), returned to Sri Lanka in the early hours of Thursday (04) before he went on to register a performance to remember in the SLC Super Provincial Tournament opener against Kandy in Pallekelle.

Chamika Karunaratne stars in Colombo’s opening win

Malinga recorded astonishing figures of 7/49 bowling his quota of 10 overs at a stretch, as he led his team Galle to a commanding 156 run victory over team Kandy.

Earlier in the day, Team Galle posted 255 all-out with Kusal Mendis and Sandun Weerakkody making half centuries.

Left-handers Minod Bhanuka and Milinda Siriwardana also chipped in with useful 30’s as Galle posted a competitive total on a tricky surface.

Quick bowler Kasun Rajitha bowled an impressive spell as he went on to capture 3/44, while leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay also chipped in with three scalps.

Kandy’s run chase never got going as they were bowled out inside 19 overs for a paltry 99 runs, but skipper Dimuth Karunaratne fought a lone battle for team Kandy as he carried his bat through the innings to remain unbeaten on 35* runs.

Dushmantha Chameera also captured three wickets for Team Galle as their skipper Malinga went on to capture his career-best figures in List A cricket.

Photos: Kandy vs Galle | Super Provincial One Day 2019


Team Kandy
99/10 (18.5)
Team Galle
255/10 (50)
Sandun Weerakkody c Dimuth Karunaratne b Jeffrey Vandersay56639088.89
Lahiru Thirimanne c Nuwan Pradeep b Kasun Rajitha10211047.62
Dhanajaya de silva c Manoj Sarathchandra b Thisara Perera5180027.78
Kusal Mendis c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Jeffrey Vandersay65873174.71
Milinda Siriwardana c Priyamal Perera b Sachithra Senanayake323112103.23
Minod Bhanuka c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Jeffrey Vandersay39432190.70
Wanindu Hasaranga run out3300100.00
Shammu Ashan c Chathuranga de Sliva b Kasun Rajitha201530133.33
Dhammika Prasad run out151101136.36
Lasitha Malinga b Kasun Rajitha250040.00
Dushmantha Chameera not out230066.67
Extras6 (b 1 , lb 2 , nb 0, w 3)
Total255/10 (50 Overs, RR: 5.1)
Nuwan Pradeep813404.25
Kasun Rajitha904434.89
Thisara Perera703715.29
Sachithra Senanayake1003613.60
Jeffrey Vandersay1005535.50
Chathuranga de Sliva604607.67

Sadeera Samarawickrama c Minod Bhanuka b Lasitha Malinga151330115.38
Dimuth Karunaratne not out35483072.92
Pathum Nissanka c Dhammika Prasad b Lasitha Malinga2200100.00
Priyamal Perera c Minod Bhanuka b Lasitha Malinga260033.33
Sachithra Senanayake lbw b Lasitha Malinga671085.71
Manoj Sarathchandra b Lasitha Malinga02000.00
Thisara Perera c Minod Bhanuka b Dushmantha Chameera121120109.09
Chathuranga de Sliva c Milinda Siriwardana b Dushmantha Chameera130033.33
Jeffrey Vandersay c Lahiru Thirimanne b Dushmantha Chameera191640118.75
Kasun Rajitha c Minod Bhanuka b Lasitha Malinga06000.00
Nuwan Pradeep b Lasitha Malinga01000.00
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 2, w 2)
Total99/10 (18.5 Overs, RR: 5.26)
Lasitha Malinga9.504975.16
Dushmantha Chameera502735.40
Dhammika Prasad402005.00