Jeevan Mendis picks up record breaking 9/53

Sri Lanka Cricket Premier League


Six matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Premier League began around the island today (28).

SLPA vs Tamil Union

Experienced Sri Lanka all-rounder Jeevan Mendis delivered a classical spell of leg spin bowling to put Tamil Union on top in their encounter against Sri Lanka Ports Authority.

Mendis in-fact went on to capture astonishing figures of 9/53 as his effort helped Tamil Union to restrict SLPA to 245 all-out.

Read More: Pathum Nishshanka completes stunning double century

His figures were also the best bowling figures in a first class game for the year 2018  as he continued his good form with the ball after a successful stint in the South African domestic T20 league.

Ruvindu Gunasekara and Prashan Wickramasinghe made half centuries for SLPA but Tamil Union ended the day on top as they reached stumps at 28/0.

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 245 (82) Ruvindu Gunasekara 66, Prashan Wickramasinghe 59, Primosh Perera 38, Imesh Udayanga 23*, Jeewan Mendis 9/53
Tamil Union Cricket And Athletic Club 28/0 (6)

Negombo vs SSC

A bold reply by SSC put them on top in their encounter against Negombo Cricket Club, who made 212 all-out batting first.

The reply was led by Sandun Weerakkody who smashed his way to an unbeaten 59* while Kaushal Silva made a sedate unbeaten 25*.

Earlier in the day left arm quick Vimukthi Perera’s three wicket burst helped SSC gain major honors before Sanitha De Mel’s fighting 43 gave Negombo CC some respectability.

Negombo Cricket Club 212 (62.3) Sanitha de Mel 43, Dilan Jayakath 38, Ashen Silva 28, Vimukthi Perera 3/33, Akash Senarathna 2/44, Sammu Ashan 2/11, Tharindu Rathnayaka 2/65
Sinhalese Sports Club 88/0 (21) Sandun Weerakkody 59*, Kaushal Silva 25*


CCC were on top at close of play in their encounter against BRC thanks to the brilliance of their quick bowlers.

It was was Sri Lanka’s discarded Test quick Vishwa Fernando and Lahiru Gamage who shared 7 wickets among them to skittle BRC out for just 105 runs.

CCC reached 154/2 when stumps were drawn with Minod Bhanuka and Madawa Warnapura making half centuries.

Burgher Recreation Club 105 (43.4) Hashen Ramanayaka 24, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 23, Lahiru Gamage 3/19, Vishwa Fernando 4/52
Colombo Cricket Club 154/2 (43.1) Minod Bhanuka 71* Madawa Warnapura 61

Colts vs Badureliya

Priyamal Perera’s century was the highlight in the encounter between Badureliya and Colts that began today.

Read More: NCC amass 466 on opening day

Perera went on to remain unbeaten on 105* while Vishad Randika made 85 to help Colts reach 294/8 at stumps.

Fast bowler Buddika Sanjeewa bowled his heart out to capture 5/57 for Badureliya SC.

Colombo Colts Cricket Club 294/8 (90) Priyamal Perera 105*, Vishad Randika 85, Nisala Tharaka 34, BUddika Sanjeewa 5/57
Badureliya Cricket Club

Army vs Chilaw Marians

Army made 196/7 against Chilaw Marians on a pitch that didn’t offer too much for bowlers with Lakshan Edirisinghe making 76.

Roshan Jayatissa and Thikshila de Silva captured two wickets apiece for Chilaw Marians.

Army Cricket Club 196/7 (71) Lakshan Edirisinghe 76, Janith Silva 32, Dushan Vimukthi 23, Roshan Jayatissa 2/31, Thikshila de Silva 2/55
Chilaw Marians Cricket Club

NCC vs Moors

Pathum Nishshanka followed up his double century last week with 163 for NCC today.

His knock enabled NCC to get to 330 all-out with skipper Angelo Perera also making a half century.

Tharindu Kaushal captured four wickets for Moors SC while Keshan Wijeyratne and Ramesh Mendis captured two wickets apiece.

Nondescripts Cricket Club 330 (65.5) Pathum Nishshanka 163, Angelo Perera 61, Chaturanga de Silva 35, Upul Tharanga 28, Tharindu Kaushal 4/72, Keshan Wijerathna 2/39, Ramesh Mendis 2/55
Moors Sports Club 30/1 (9)