Squads & Fixtures announced for SLC Invitational T20 League

SLC Invitational T20 League 2022


Sri Lanka Cricket have announced the squads and fixtures for the 4 team Invitational T20 tournament which will take place in August due to the postponement of Lanka Premier League Season 3.

The 7-match, 4-team tournament will take place at the R.Premadasa International Cricket Stadium across 4 days (9th, 11th, 14th, 16th final). Two matches are scheduled to take place on each day with 1 happening in the afternoon (3.00PM Start) and the other being a night encounter (7.30PM Start). Each team will play the other 3 teams once in the league stage and the 2 top teams after the end of the 6 league matches will play in the finals under lights on the 16th of August.

Kusal Mendis will lead the SLC Reds team which includes star Sri Lankan bowlers Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana and the young upcoming stars in the white ball setup Dunith Wellage and Matheesha Pathirana. The Reds lineup is further strengthened in the batting department with the inclusion of explosive batter Bhanuka Rajapakse.

Charith Asalanka is all set to take the reins as the skipper of SLC Blues and he will marshal a team which consists the likes of Dhananjaya de Silva, Dhanushka Gunathilake, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara and Praveen Jayawickrama.

Sri Lankan white ball captain Dasun Shanaka has been given the responsibility of leading SLC Greens and by his side will be Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Pathum Nissanka, Binura Fernando and Nuwan Thushara.

The 4th and final team of the tournament will be led by Ashan Priyanjan who is one of the most experienced players in the Sri Lankan cricketing circuit. The SLC Greys have 15 men who did really well in the recently concluded Major Clubs T20 tournament like the best batsman award winner Ashan Randika, Best Bowler award winner Akila Dananjaya and youngsters who shined like Movin Subasinghe, Muditha Lakshan and Duvindu Thillakaratne.

The tournament will kickoff with SLC Reds taking on SLC Greys on the 9th. This tournament will be considered like somewhat of a trial for the upcoming Asia Cup and the T20 World Cup down under.

SLC Reds – Squad

Kusal Mendis (Capt.)-WK, Lasith Croospulle, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sahan Arachchige, Dunith Wellalage, Lahiru Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Mahesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Pabasara Waduge, Kalana Perera, Kevin Koththigoda, Sithara Gimhan

SLC Blues – Squad

Charith Asalanka (Capt.), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK), Dhananjaya De Silva, Ashen Bandara, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Udara, Lahiru Samarakoon, Ashen Daniel, Nipun Ransika

SLC Greens – Squad

Dasun Shanaka (Capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Nuwanidu Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ramesh Mendis, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Saminda Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Nimesh Vimukthi, Sachindu Colombage

SLC Greys – Squad

Ashan Priyanjan (Capt.), Ashan Randika, Sanegeeth Cooray, PT Dabare, Minod Bhanuka, Movin Subasingha, Muditha Lakshan, Akila Dhananiava, Duvindu Tillakaratne, Milan Rathnayake, Lakshan Gamage, Nimsara Atharagalla, Pulina Tharanga, Tharindu Ratnayake, Kasun Vidura Adikari


9th of August

  • SLC Reds Vs SLC Greys – 3.00PM
  • SLC Green Vs SLC Blues – 7.30PM

11th of August

  • SLC Greens Vs SLC Reds – 3.00PM
  • SLC Greys Vs SLC Blues – 7.30PM

14th of August

  • SLC Greys Vs SLC Greens – 3.00PM
  • SLC Reds Vs SLC Blues – 7.30PM

16th of August

  • Finals – 7.30PM

Stay tuned to ThePapare.com for all latest developments regarding the SLC Invitational T20 League.