SLASU concludes National and Junior National Aquatic Championships 2022

National and Junior National Aquatic Championships 2022

National and Junior National Aquatic Championships 2022

The National and Junior National Artistic Swimming, Diving, and Water Polo Championships 2022, organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union came to an end today, the 20th of November 2022, at Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex.

Water Polo

The National Women’s and Men’s Water Polo Championships were won by Visakha Vidyalaya Old Girls Association and Sri Lanka Air Force respectively. While the Old Thomian Swimming Club secured both women’s and men’s runner-up titles.

Aneesha Fowzie of Old Thomian Swimming Club and U. I. O. De Silva of Sri Lanka Air Force were highlighted as the tournament’s highest goal scorers. Thiyumi Gunawardena of Visakha Vidyalaya Old Girls Association and R.L.K. Udyarathna of Sri Lanka Air Force earned the most valuable player awards.

Photos – National and Junior National Artistic Swimming Championships 2022


The diving championships took place on the 17th and 18th of November. Bishop’s College, Colombo and Royal College Union Aquatic Club conquered the diving pool by winning the overall National Men’s and Women’s Champion titles. Bishopian, Kithmi Marambe won the National Women’s best diver award, and Prasad Dissanayake of RCUAC won the National Men’s best diver award.

The overall championships of the Junior Category was won by Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo and Royal College, Colombo. Vinudi Kankanamge of Visakha led her school to the win by becoming the junior girl’s best diver. At the same time, Mikhail Jayaweera from Royal secured the junior boy’s best diver title.

Artistic Swimming

The artistic swimming championships were held last weekend on the 12th and 13th of November, with Aurora Synchro Club and Visakha Vidyalaya gaining more honors. Aurora Synchro Club clinched the overall national championship, while Visakha Vidyalaya won the overall Junior National Championship.

The National Solo event was won by Tanalia Rekawa of Ladies College. And the National duet event was won by Lourdi Perera and Jithmi Perera of Aurora Synchro Club.

Additionally, Piyushi Kulasekara of Visakha won the Junior category solo event. Kulasekara with Manekha Gomez also won the Junior Duet.

While the artistic swimming and water polo championships for the year come to an end, the next event in the aquatic calendar will be the 47th Annual Sri Lanka Schools All Island Age Group Aquatic Championships 2022 from the 7th-11th of December 2022 at the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex.

>> More Aquatic News <<