SL U19 squad for 3-dayers against Aussies announced

Australia U19 tour of Sri Lanka 2019


SLC has announced the Sri Lanka under-19 squad for the Youth Test against Australia U19 with a few major changes from the side that participated in the 3-match Youth ODI series.

Nipun Dhananjaya will stick to his seat as the skipper while five changes have been made to the squad which played the one-dayers.

Read: Spinners bowl Sri Lanka U19s to consolation win

Injured opener Navod Paranavithana, leg-spinner Raveen de Silva, all-rounder Avishka Tharindu, seamer Lakshan Rodrigo and top-order batsman Praveen Nimesh have all been left out of the squad.

Chihan Kalindu and Pavan Rathnayake are the two batsmen who will replace the two left out while Trinity seamer Ruvin Peiris should take up the available fast-bowler’s spot. Off-spinning all-rounder, Sandun Mendis has come into the squad as the extra spinner while the leg-spinner from Jaffna Vijayakanth Viyaskanth has also been called up to the squad.

Read Also: Sri Lanka U19 squad announced for Australia series

Top-performers in the youth ODIs like Kamil Mishara and Sonal Dinusha will have their place cemented. Dhananjaya will have the luxury of having enough spinners at the SSC surface. His in-form spinners Rohan Sanjaya and Dilum Sudeera will keep their places in the squad while the additions like Sandun will be a handful.

The one-off Youth Test will commence tomorrow, 10th January, at the SSC grounds.

Sri Lanka U19 Squad: Nipun Dananjaya – Captain (St. Joseph Vaz’ College), Kamil Mishara – Wicket Keeper (Royal College), Sonal Dinusha (Mahanama College), Ashian Daniel (St. Joseph’s College), Rohan Sanjaya (Tissa Centeral College, Kalutara), Dilum Sudheera (Richmond College), Vijayakanth Viyaskanth (Jaffna Central College), Sandun Mendis (Richmond College), Chamindu Wijesinghe (Nalanda College), Ruvin Peiris (Trinity College), Chihan Kalindu (St. Servatius’ College), Thaveesha Abhishek (Richmond College), Dilshan Madushanka (Vijayaba National School, Hungama), Mohamed Samaaz – Wicket Keeper (Zahira College) Pavan Rathnayake (Mahanama College)

>>For more Cricket News Click Here<<