Battle is on, Schools Rugby 2nd round Fixtures out!


Five weeks of exhilarating rugby action finally comes to a conclusion with the 5th weekend of the Singer Schools Rugby League 1st round action shortlisting the Cup Championship candidates.

The aggressively-contested illustrious Singer Schools Rugby League came alive for its 2018 edition on the 3rd of March this year and has dished out some delectable rugby action in the 30 games that were played in the 1st round.


The twelve teams that played across two groups in the top division (Division IA and IIA) will now break away to compete for the silverware with the second round, set to kick off in three weeks.

The Royalists led by Sabith Feroz (middle) have had tremendous success this first round, winning all 5 games and conceding only 36 points

Out of the six in each group, 4 teams will proceed to the Cup championship while it will be decision time for the bottom tier finishers as they will fight for their top division spot with the lower tier teams.

An A-Z Explanation on How the League works

The points table in the Division IA segment has Royal College comfortably sitting on top with 5 wins,collecting bonus points from 4 outings.

RC -Royal College SJC – St. Joseph’s College, KCK – Kingswood College, TCK – Trinity College Kandy, SACK – St. Anthony’s College Kandy, STC – S. Thomas’ College

For more facts and figures from the Singer Schools Rugby League visit ThePapare Stats Centre

In Division IA, Royal, St. Joseph’s, Kingswood and Trinity will qualify for the Cup Championship while the bottom two teams will have to spend their time in the Plate.

Both S. Thomas’ and St. Anthony’s haven’t had the best of seasons and with only the encounter between the two schools remaining, — St. Anthony’s will host S. Thomas’s on the 24th at Nittawela, the possibilities of either one making it to the top 4 seems very unlikely.

Leaderboard | ThePapare Stats Centre

Top Try and Point Scorers of the Schools Rugby League 2018

After 5 weeks of rugby action, the Division IIA group’s points table looks like this.

SPC – St. Peter’s College, IC – Isipathana College, WC – Wesley College, Zahira – Zahira College, DS – D. S. Senanayake College, DRCK – Dharmaraja College

The 2018 season has been a turnaround for the Peterites with the lads from Bambalapitiya sitting on top unbeaten. The top 4 from the IIA, St. Peter’s, Isipathana, Wesley and Zahira will qualify for the cup.

The Peterites have been a revelation. 5 wins from 5 games makes them group leaders and are in league title contention

Read: TMO back for Schools’ Rugby

The Wesleyites however have a game left in their first round action against Dharmaraja but that will not have effect on the positions in the respective division with both Dharmaraja and D. S. Senanayake College sent down to play in the Plate.

The Cup Championship will span out for four weeks with 4 matches played every week and it will be decision time for the eight schools taking part as the league will be fought and won during that period.

The Cup Championship Points Table will be as follows:

Notable – Wesley College still have a game in hand. Provided they win the final game against Dharmaraja, the Wesley team will move to 6th position ahead of Trinity

For more facts and figures from the Singer Schools Rugby League visit ThePapare Stats Centre

Two teams remain unbeaten in the championship and the final week of this Singer Schools Rugby League will see these two teams; Royal and St. Peter’s facing each other.

The second round fixtures for the Cup Championship will be based entirely on the rankings of the 1st round. The top teams will play the lower teams and later meet each other when the second round goes into its penultimate weeks.

The Second Round fixture for the Cup Championship will be as follows:

Week Dates # Team 1 Team 2 Venue Time
Week 6 11 May – 13 May 31 Royal College Zahira College Royal Complex 4.15 p.m.
32 St. Joseph’s College Wesley College Havelock Park 4.15 p.m.
33 Kingswood College Isipathana College TBC 4.15 p.m.
34 Trinity College St. Peter’s College Pallekelle 4.15 p.m.
Week 7 18 May – 20 May 35 Royal College Wesley College CR & FC (Wesley) 4.15 p.m.
36 St. Joseph’s College Zahira College Zahira Grounds 4.15 p.m.
37 Kingswood College St. Peter’s College TBC 4.15 p.m.
38 Trinity College Isipathana College Havelock Park 4.15 p.m.
Week 8 25 May – 27 May 39 Royal College Isipathana College Havelock Park 4.15 p.m.
40 St. Joseph’s College St. Peter’s College Havelock Park (St. Joseph’s) 4.15 p.m.
41 Kingswood College Zahira College TBC 4.15 p.m.
42 Trinity College Wesley College Pallekelle 4.15 p.m.
Week 9 1 June – 3 June 43 Royal College St. Peter’s College Royal Complex 4.15 p.m.
44 St. Joseph’s College Isipathana College Havelock Park (Isipathana) 4.15 p.m.
45 Kingswood College Wesley College CR & FC 4.15 p.m.
46 Trinity College Zahira College Pallekelle 4.15 p.m.

The 2nd round will kick off on the 11th of May 2018. The exact dates and venues will be updated shortly.

Stay logged on to ThePapare and be informed of the latest developments in the Schools Rugby arena.

Note – The following fixtures are ThePapare’s Fixtures and are not the official fixtures released by the SLSRFA