Royalist & Visakhian to lead Junior paddlers for South Asian Championship


Sri Lanka Junior, Cadet and Hopes teams will be leaving to Maldives to take part in the South Asian Junior, Cadet and Hopes Table Tennis championship 2018, on 19th April. The championship will be held from 20th April to 22nd April with the participation of six south Asian countries, the giant India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Maldives and Sri Lanka. The championship will also be used to select the South Asian nations for the Asian championship which is scheduled to be held in August 2018 in Myanmar.

Royalist Nimesh Ranchagoda and, Visakhian Hansani Piyumila will be leading the Sri Lanka Junior table tennis teams while Hiruna Warusawithana of Dharmashoka College and Jithara Warnakulasuriya of Ladies’ college will be leading the Cadet teams respectively. This is Hansani’s nineteenth Sri Lanka representation including senior and junior categories and, Nimesh’s fifth representation. The team is coached by Mr. D.M.G.S.Kumara and Mr. Buddhika Dikkumbura and the manger is Mr. Rahal Abeyrathne.

The players were selected after a rigorous selection criterion including very competitive selection matches throughout two days in a league basis. The team manager and the coaches are confident that with some exceptional performances this  well-balanced, experienced and talented side, Sri Lanka can compete evenly with the South Asian giants and qualify for the Asian Championship. Last year Sri Lanka hosted the championship in Colombo and, secured 6 silver medals and 7 bronze medals.

  • Junior Boys Team
  1. Nimesh Ranchagoda(Captain)         – Royal College, Colombo
  2. Chandupa Alahakoon                     – Kingswood College, Kandy
  3. Dishanka Thennakoon                    – Dharmaraja College, Kandy
  4. Isuru Anjana                                 – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda
  • Junior Girls Team
  1. Hansani Piyumila (Captain)            – Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo
  2. D.H.Kolambage                            – Prajapathi Gothami Girls College, Ambalangoda
  3. Imasha De Silva                           – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda
  4. Ayla Chitty                                   – Ladies’ College, Colombo
  • Cadet Boys Team
  1. Hiruna Warusawithana(Captain)    – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda
  2. Chanul Dulsen                             – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda
  3. Senura Silva                                – Ananda College , Colombo
  • Cadet Girls Team
  1. Jithara Warnakulasuriya (Captain)  – Ladies’ College, Colombo
  2. Sanaya Buddhadasa                      – Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo
  3. Kavishka Kavindi                           – Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda
  • Hopes Boys:
  1. Oshan Senaratharachchi                – Royal College, Colombo
  • Hopes Girls:
  1. Navindi Senevirathne                     – Kegalu Balika Vidyalaya
  • Coaches:
  1. Mr. D.M.G.S.Kumara
  2. Mr. Buddhika Dikkumbura
  • Team Manager :
  1. Mr. Rahal Abeyrathne
  • Lady Chaperon:
  1. Ms. U.P.D.D. Udagedara