Danuja and Kushan help Mahinda retain Lovers’ Quarrel One-Day trophy

117th Lovers' Quarrel - One Day Encounter 2022


The annual one-day encounter between Richmond College Galle and Mahinda College Galle was held yesterday at the Mahinda College Grounds as the home team recorded a clinical 17-run win.

The 50-over game played alongside the Richmond-Mahinda Big Match, famously known as the Lovers’ Quarrel, was last played in 2019 and was also won by Mahinda College.

Following the tame draw in the 2-day game of the 117th Lovers’ Quarrel played in April, the two sides had to wait a while to face each other again in the limited-overs edition.

Read : 117th Lovers’ Quarrel ends in a draw

Mahinda College, playing in their own backyard, posted a modest 226 after winning the toss and electing to bat first. Promising young batter Danuja Induwara scored a 101-ball century for the hosts with 6 sixes and 8 boundaries. Induwara was also involved in an innings-defining 26-ball 51-run stand for the 10th wicket during his crucial knock. Number 3 batter Dinura Kalupahana scored 49, the second highest score for Mahinda and one of the 4 two-digit scores of their innings.

In bowling for Richmond, all-rounder Tharinda Nirmal recorded figures of 3 for 43 bowling his off spinners while seamer Hansamana De Silva and spinner Sharon Abhishek grabbed 2 wickets apiece.

The Richmond run-chase saw wickets falling at regular intervals as they fell short by 17 runs after batting their complete quota of 50 overs. Mahinda skipper, left-arm spinner Kushan Madusha was the chief destroyer of the Richmond innings picking 4 wickets for just 29 runs.

Opening the batting for Richmond, Tharinda Nirmal top-scored for with 41 runs while number 10 batter Kalpa Nethsara put up a valiant fight, scoring 37 runs before he was run out as the 9th wicket. Nethsara scored 59 runs for the 9th wicket together with number 9 batter Sharon Abhishek to salvage some pride for Richmond, helping their team go past 200.

Brief Scores

Mahinda College – 226 (49.5) Danuja Induwara 100, Dinura Kalupahana 41, Pramesh Madubashana 31, Tharinda Nirmal 3/43, Sharon Abhishek 2/31, Hansamana 2/44

Richmond College – 209 (50) Tharinda Nirmal 41, Kalpa Nethsara 37, Hnsamana De Silva 25, Sharon Abhishek 20*, Kushan Madusha 4/29, Shehan Hasaranga 2/32

Mahinda College won by 17 runs