Ragama CC came from a losing position to salvage a draw against Saracens SC, while Dhanushka Gunathilaka scored a fighting century (112*) to save SSC from a difficult position against NCC. Wanidu De Silva, number nine batsman for Colombo CC stroked a surprising 116 to put the visitors in control against Colts CC.

Saracens v Ragama

Ragama resumed from 263 for 5 and went on to take a surprising first innings win against Saracens at Thurstan grounds.

Saracens seemed to be in control at the end of day two, only for Sameera de Zoysa (91) to put his hand up along with all-rounder Chathura Peiris (71) to propel Ragama to a commanding 448 in their first innings and with it win first innings points.

Suraj Randiv ended with 4 wickets for Saracens while Mohomed Dilshad and Kasun Rajitha took 3 wickets each.

The game ended on day three with Saracens on 5 for no loss in 2 overs.

Brief Scores

Saracens SC 1st Innings: 401 (98.3) Sangeeth Cooray 189, Kaushalya Gajasinghe 99, Amila Aponso 4/100, Thilaksha Sumanasiri 3/33

Ragama CC 1st Innings: 448 (141) Udara Jayasundara 109, Roshen Silva 95, Sameera de Zoysa 91, Chathura Peiris 71*, Suraj Randiv 4/119, Mohomed Dilshad 3/48, Kasun Rajitha 3/114

Saracens SC 2nd Innings: 5/0 (2)

Result: Match Draw, Ragama win on first innings.

Tamil Union v Chilaw Marians

Tamil union went on to score a massive 450 in their 1st innings. Wicket keeper Manoj Sarathchandra scored 87 from 99 balls to add to Jeewan Mendis’ and Tharanga Paranavithana’s centuries as the visitors took control from the onset.

Mendis then went on to rattle hosts Chilaw Marians with his leg spin, bagging 4 for 79. Dinuk Wickramanayaka was the second best with the ball picking up 3 for 18 in 11 overs. The spin duo worked in tandem, dismissing the home team for 219 in their first innings.

Thikshila De Silva and opener Shehan Jayasuriya was the only batsmen to shine for Chilaw with 59 each in the first innings.

The hosts were asked to follow-on and ended day 2 on 137 for the loss of a single wicket.

Brief Scores

Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club 1st Innings: 450 (101.5) Jeevan Mendis 115, Tharanga Paranavithana 100, Manoj Sarathchandra 87, Malinda Pushpakumara 5/134, Thikshila de Silva 2/45

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 1st Innings: 219 (42.1) Shehan Jayasuriya 59, Sachithra Serasinghe 24, Jeevan Mendis 4/79, Dinuk Wikramanayaka 3/18

Chilaw Marians Cricket Club F/O: 137/1 (34) Shehan Jayasuriya 67, Ashen Silva 47*, Mahela Udawatte 22*

The game will continue tomorrow for the final day at FTZ grounds.

Colts v Colombo CC

Wanidu De Silva came in low down in the batting order to rescue and put Colombo CC in control at Colts grounds.

Colombo CC resumed day 2 on 28 for 2 and went on to post 384 as De Silva took control from low down in the order. De Silva went on to make an unbeaten 116 from 118 balls with 13 fours and 3 sixers.

Colts ended day two on 40 for none.

Brief Scores

Colts Cricket Club 1st Innings: 276 (81.4) Hashan Dumindu 105, Kanchana Gunawardane 31, Lahiru Madushanka 3/45, Lakshan Sandakan 3/63 &

Colombo Cricket Club 1st Innings: 384 (79.4) Wanidu Hasaranga 116, Ashan Priyanjan 80, Lahiru Madushanka 59, Ron Chandraguptha 58, Akila Dananjaya 4/111, Nisala Tharaka 3/68

Colts Cricket Club 2nd Innings: 40/0 (8)

The game will continue tomorrow for the final day at Colts Cricket ground.

Moors v Army

Moors Sports Club went on to score 376 after resuming on 320 for 8. Shanuka Dulaj added 29 to his overnight 152 and ended unbeaten on 181.

Nilanka Sandakan did not let Army off the hook as he went on to take 5 for 69 and dismiss Army for just 242.

Manjula de Zoysa was the only batsman to go past a fifty plus score getting to 90 and falling in disappointing fashion.

Moors will begin day three with a lead of 134 under their belt.

Brief Scores

Moors Sports Club 1st Innings: 376 (97.5) Shanuka Dulaj 181*, Ruvindu Gunasekara 45, Pabasara Waduge 40, Sekkuge Prasanna 3/124

Army Sports Club 1st Innings: 242 (79) Manjula de Zoysa 90*, Dushan Vimukthi 30, Nilanka Sandakan 4/68

The game will continue tomorrow for the final day at Burgher Recreation grounds.


Visitors NCC added 54 runs on day 2 as they ended their first innings on 393.

SSC, playing at home, found themselves at 82 for 5 only for Dhanushka Gunathilaka to step up and score an unbeaten 112 and take the hosts to a respectable 219 in their first innings.

Chathuranga De Silva was the chief destroyer for NCC, picking up 6 for 72.

NCC began their first innings and ended day two on 27 for no loss.

The game will continue tomorrow for the final day at SSC grounds.

Brief Scores

Nondescripts Cricket Club 1st Innings: 392/9 (106.3)Chathuranga de Silva 95, Jehan Mubarak 81, Farveez Maharoof 59, Nimesha Gunasinghe 47, Kasun Madushanka 3/82, Vimukthi Perera 3/60 &

Nondescripts Cricket Club 2nd Innings: 27/0 (8)

Sinhalese Sports Club 1st Innings: 219 (60) Danushka Gunathilaka 112*, Chaturanga de Silva 6/72