Police SC on verge of an outright win

SLC Premier League Tier B

SLC Premier League Tier B

Two matches of the Sri Lanka Cricket(SLC) Premier League Tier B segment were worked off today(6th February). 

Sebastianites CAC vs Panadura SC

Newcomers to the Tier B segment Sebastianites had a nervous start to their campaign, as they were bowled out for just 126 in 51.2 overs taking the first lease of the wicket.

Nugegoda SWC bounce back with a second inning heroic to register 1st win of the tourney

Left-arm spinner Chalana de Silva was the chief destroyer with 5/28, while his fellow spin bowling partner Umesh Karunaratne capture three wickets.

Stylish left-handed batsman Vishwa Chathuranga hit a quick-fire 46 in Panadura SC’s reply before Karunaratne showed his all-round capabilities to remain unbeaten on 33* when stumps were drawn on day one.

Sanjika Ridma also made 39 as Panadura made 164/4 in just 38 overs to lead Sebastianites by 38 runs.

Sebastianites Cricket and Athletic Club 126 (51.2) Kiran Joshi 33, Prabahath De Zoysa 21, Chalana De Silva 5/28, Umesh Karunaratne 3/30
Panadura Sports Club 164/4 (38) Vishva Chathuranga 46, Sanjika Ridma 39, Umesh Karunaratne 33*, Harsha Cooray 20

KTC vs Police SC

Police SC who were in a strong position when play began on day two at 80/1, lost wickets at regular intervals during the opening session, but their star Indian batsman Gitansh Khera made a fighting half-century to make sure they secured a vital 24 run first-innings lead.

KTC’s Ishan Abeysekara starred with a five-wicket haul with his right arm leg spin, while Hasitha Nirmal also chipped in with two wickets.

Photos: Air Force SC vs Police SC | SLC Major League 2018/19 – Tier “B”

KTC’s reply were in tatters as they ended day two on 91/7, with an overall lead of just 67 runs and three wickets in hand. Skipper Eranga Ratnayake(34) fought a lone battle but his dismissal late in the day made sure Police were in cruise control when stumps were drawn on day two.

Kalutara Town Club160 (65.1) Hasith Nirmal 45, R Punchihewa 37, Naved Sarwar 21, Asel Sigera 4/30, Mohommed Faheem 3/43, Sujan Mayura 2/21  & 91/7 (46.3) Eranga Rathnayake 34, Hashan Chamara 23, Lahiru Diyantha 3/23 Asel Sigera 2/16
Police Sports Club184 (61.2) Gitansh Khera 65, Madusanka Zoysa 49, Lakshan Rodrigo 25, Vinit Indulkar 20, Ishan Abeysekara 5/48, R Punchihewa 2/34, Hasitha Nirmal 2/50