Last year’s Clifford Cup finalists, Police SC are looking to build upon the success in bringing back the 80’s glory days.  Rugby at Police SC started in 1963 and then won their first League title in 1980 after which the Police went on a record breaking decade as they consecutively won the ‘A’ Division League title which was then known as the ‘John Player League’ from 84-89.


In the 2013-14 season Police won 6 matches on their way to the Plate Championships securing the double over the now defunct Hambanthota Sharks, Air Force and CH&FC. In the Clifford Cup quarter final Kandy SC evaded a Police onslaught to win.

Police took another step in the 2014-15 season finishing sixth, one place above last season with wins over Sharks, CH&FC, Air Force, Army and CR&FC. They fell just short of completing a rare double over CR losing by a point in the 2nd round. The 5’10, 220 pound Fijian juggernaut Apisai Naqaliva was Police SC’s heart beat that season finishing as one of the highest try and points scorers.

Police after 14 years made it to a final when they defeated Havelocks 34-20 in the quarter final and Air Force 27-16 in the semifinal to have a crack at the Clifford Cup Knockout Championship which they last won in 1990. However that dream turned out to be a nightmare as Kandy SC bulldozed to a 77-07 win.

The potential talents coming up the ranks have the perfect environment to learn from the experienced with Police SC having a host of former captains still with the squad including former Sri Lanka XV and Sevens squad member Romesh Archirige, whose career was started at the Police Park, 2013-14 captain Jeewan Amaradasa and 2014-15 captain Hashan Gomes.

Young Blood


Police SC in what they would be hoping to be a breakthrough year have signed two of the finest from the 2015 school’s rugby season in Shawket Lahir and Reeza Raffaideen also adding Josephian forward Chalana Chamikara while retaining the services of 2014 Schools Triple Champion, the whimsical Sudam Sooriarachchi.

Shawket Lahir, the silent assassin of the League Champions, Royal College was in devastating form at open-side flanker and his utter domination of the beast Omalka Gunarathne in the league decider personifies his worth.

Kingswood Captain Reeza Raffaideen was the School League’s highest points scorer and he represented the Sri Lanka U20 Sevens side in Junior Asiad Sevens. However Police will have to take field without Lahir and Raffaideen in the first few weeks as they will be representing Sri Lanka U20 in the Junior Asiad.


Start of a new era?

Police players to watchPolice SC in the past couple of seasons has been consistent winning the Plate championship. However they were unable to improve this form. With a strong base the Police rugby puzzle needed one final piece.

The answer came through seven national players who switched from their Navy blue to the Police Khaki. When it comes to making a difference at crunch time, Police will look no further than Riza Mubarak, Achala Perera, Terence Henry, Hasitha Perera, Sharo Fernando, Chamara Dabare and Bilal Hassen who will litter the Police line-up with power, skill and experience. While the transfers of Chula Susantha from Army, Mohamed Sheriff from Havelocks and Lasintha De Costa from CR&FC will be an added boost.

Bilal’s brute strength, Henry, Hasitha and Achala’s experience and Sharo’s presence at breakdowns together with Romesh Archirige and Shawket Lahir the ‘Police Pack’ will be nothing short of ‘All Star’ standard.

Police are equally re-enforced in the backline starting from scrum half Sudam Sooriarachchi, Reeza Raffaideen, Sheriff, Lasintha De Costa who is back playing after a year in sabbatical, Chamara Dabare and the ever-reliable kicking ace Riza Mubarak; who was one of the highest points scorers last season.

 Men behind the scene

The responsibility of polishing this star studded Police SC squad will be upon Lalith Weerarathne while he will be ably assisted by former Sri Lanka and CR&FC Captain Dushantha Lewke.

This may well be the beginning of a new revolution and on paper the 2015-16 Police SC lineup are chemicals for the perfect winning formula; whether the chemicals will be properly mixed and utilized, only time would tell.

Squad: Riza Mubarak – Udara Gayan – Lasitha Randeera – Lahiru Gurusinghe – Radeesha Seneviratne – Devaraja Sivanandhan – Mushin Faleed – Yasantha Gallage – Gihan Danushka – Mohamed Abzal – Achala Perera – Thanuja Seneviratne -Harsha Iroshan – Rasith Silva – Chaminda Seneviratne -Yohan Perera – Priyantha Sandaruwan – Charles Praveen – Dinesh Lakmal – Gayan Dilshan – Chula Susantha – Janith Chanaka – Sudam Sooriyaarachchi – Chamara Dabare – Chanaka Udara – Mahomed Sheriff – Bilal Hassan – Shanaka Harischandra – Lasintha De Costa