Old Josephians & Old Anthonians declared joint champions at Quadrangular

52nd Saints Quadrangular Cricket Tournament


Old Josephians and Old Anthonians were declared joint winners of the 52nd Saints Quadrangular T20 Cricket Tournament conducted on Sunday (3rd November) in Colombo.

After winning their respective semi-final fixtures in the morning session, the final between Old Josephians and Old Anthonians was called-off due to bad weather at Darley Road.

In the first semi-final worked out at St. Peter’s College grounds, the Old Benedictines, batting first, racked up 151 in their 20 overs. Experienced Carmen Mapatuna smashed 83 off 55 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes.

Photos : Saints Quadrangular Cricket Tournament 2019

In their chase, Old Anthonians coasted to victory thanks to two half-centuries by Gimhan Dissanayake and skipper Manoj Sarathchandra. Dissanayake, opening the batting, scored 50 off 39 deliveries with 4 fours and 2 maximums, while Sarathchandra anchored the chase with a fine, unbeaten 30-ball 55, which included 3 fours and 4 sixes. 

In the other semi-final played at St. Joseph’s College grounds, the game was restricted to a 17-over affair due to a wet outfield. The Peterites led by Angelo Perera posted a solid 147 from their allotted overs. 

The openers Lakshan Rodrigo and Shehan Fernando blasted the star-studded Josephian bowling attack to all parts of the grounds, adding 79 for the first wicket. However, the hosts clawed their way into the game after the initial onslaught.  

Rodrigo’s whirlwind innings had 8 fours and 4 sixes as he notched up 72 off 44 deliveries. Fernando made 35 off 22 balls with 3 sixes and 3 fours. Left-arm spinner Supeshala Jayathilaka was the most impressive bowler for the Josephians as he took 2 scalps for 24 runs from his 4 overs. 

Rector of St. Joseph’s College, Rev. Fr Ranjith Andradi awarded the main trophy to the two winning captains, Dimuth Karunaratne (Old Josephians) and Manoj Sarathchandra (Old Anthonians)

Chasing a target of 148, the home team lost Sadeera Samarawickrama and Dimuth Karunaratne early as they were 3 down for 36 runs in the sixth over. However, Roshane Silva and Thisara Perera accelerated to bring the chase back on track. 

Perera smashed four sixes during his 15-ball 35 while, Silva batted till the end and remained unbeaten on 29*. Priyamal Perera and Supeshala Jayathilake made crucial cameos of 23 and 19, before Jehan Daniel took the Josephians over the winning line with a six.

Semi-Final 1 at Bambalapitiya – Old Anthonians won by 7 wickets

Old Benedictines – 151/5 (20 overs) Carmen Mapatuna 83*, Thenura Gunathilake 24, Ashane Silva 14, Selvyn Jamion 2/34, Sachin Bulathsinhala 1/24, Aravinda Premaratne 1/30, Gimhan Dissanayake 1/23.

Old Anthonians – 156/3 (16) Manoj Sarathchandra 55*, Gimhan Dissanayake 50, Kanishka Uggalpaya 21, Ferin Silva 2/30

Semi-Final 2 at Darley Road – Old Josephians won by 4 wickets

Old Peterites – 147/6 (17) Lakshan Rodrigo 72, Shehan Fernando 35, Angelo Perera 23, Supeshala Jayathilake 2/24, Dimuth Karunaratne 1/29

Old Josephians – 148/6 (16.2) Dimuth Karunaratne 19, Roshane Silva 29*, Thisara Perera 35, Priyamal Perera 23, Supeshala Jayathilake 19, Sadeera Samarawickrama 12, Dushan Hemantha 2/43, Angelo Emmanuel 2/10, Taneesha Weerakoon 1/21

Best Fielder – Dineth Thimodya (Old Peterites)
Best Bowler – Supeshala Jayathilake (Old Josephians)
Best Batsman – Carmen Mapatuna (Old Benedictines)

For More Cricket News