Gunathilaka and the bowlers find form on day 2


A much better performance from the bowlers and batsmen saw Sri Lanka gain much needed confidence on day 2 of their warm up game against New Zealand XI at Napier today.

Sri Lanka was 160 for the loss of 2 wickets in their innings after New Zealand XI declared their 1st innings at 270 for 8 in the second session of day 2. Dhananjaya De Silva and Kusal Mendis were unbeaten at the crease on 19 and 11 respectively at stumps on day 2.

Day 2 was day filled with many positives for the visiting Lankans. After a horrible day with the bat on day 1, where the only positive was Angelo Mathews’ back-to-the-wall century, Sri Lankans came back strong with a good bowling performance. Yes, they failed to bowl-out the New Zealand Xi but, it was a very consistent and disciplined bowling performance from the seamers and the spin duo. The likes of Lahiru Kumara, who is coming back from suspension showed good rhythm both with the new and old ball. Kasun Rajitha and Suranaga Lakmal was also very tidy but the lanky Dushmantha Chameera was not hitting the right lengths and he was taken for a few runs.

Read Also: Angelo Mathews saves the day for Sri Lanka

The wickets were shared by almost all the bowlers. The spin duo shared two wickets each. Lakshan Sandaken was comparatively better in his control while Diruwan produced few tight spells. The seamers Chameera, Lakmal and Kumara shared 1 wicket each, with Lahiru Kumara been the most economical of the lot. Part timer Dhananjaya De Silva also chipped in with a wicket.

Lankan openers looked more relaxed with the bat in hand in the 2nd innings. Dhanushka Gunathilaka took on the new ball with some dashing boundaries and later took a liking to the spinners as he stroked twelve 4’s and one 6 in his knock of 83. His partner Lahiru Thirimanne was more reserved as he slowly accumulated 43 runs before nicking one behind off the chinaman BP Coburn. Dinesh Chandimal opted to let both Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya De Silva bat before him as both the players missed out on the first innings. Mendis managed to get off the pair as he stroked 2 boundaries in the dying moments of the day while Dhananjaya looked solid as ever on the other end.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka

210/9 & 160/2

(37 overs)


NZ Borad XI

270/8 & 0/0

(0 overs)

Sri Lanka’s 1st Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka c MW Chu b LR Dudding02
Lahiru Thirimanne c WT O’Donnell b MW Snedden613
Dinesh Chandimal c DN Phillips b LI Georgeson2646
Kusal Mendis c MW Chu b MW Snedden02
Angelo Mathews not out128177
Dhananjaya de Silva c MW Snedden b PF Younghusband1432
Niroshan Dickwella c WT O’Donnell b PF Younghusband01
Roshen Silva c DN Phillips b BP Coburn04
Dilruwan Perera lbw by BP Coburn03
Suranga Lakmal c KD Clarke b BP Coburn1026
Lahiru Kumara not out1248
14 (lb 4, wd 8, nb 2)
210/9 (59 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-1 (D Gunathilaka, 0.4 ov), 2-10 (L Thirimanne, 5.1 ov), 3-10 (K Mendis, 5.3 ov), 4-59 (D Chandimal, 15.4 ov), 5-87 (D De Silva, 24.3 ov), 6-87 (N Dickwella, 24.4 ov), 7-88 (R Silva, 25.6 ov), 8-88 (D Perera, 27.3 ov), 9-104 (S Lakmal, 35.2 ov)
LR Dudding91381 4.22
MW Snedden70292 4.14
BR Hampton111380 3.45
LI Georgeson52131 2.60
PF Younghusband106252 2.50
BP Coburn134443 3.38
WT O'Donnell40190 4.75

NZ Borad XI’s 1st Innings

LI Georgeson c K Mendis b S Lakmal857
DS Robinson lbw by L Kumara412
WT O'Donnell c N Pradeep b D Chameera2240
Sandeep Patel st N Dickwella b L Sandakan69106
DN Phillips b D Perera1723
MW Snedden lbw by D Perera2455
KD Clarke lbw by D De Silva4653
BR Hampton c D De Silva b L Sandakan618
PF Younghusband not out3176
MW Chu not out3359
10 (b 1, lb 1, w 1, nb 7)
270/8 (82 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-4 (DS Robinson, 3.6 ov), 2-35 (LI Georgeson, 16.6 ov), 3-35 (WT O'Donnell, 17.6 ov), 4-63 (DN Phillips, 26.2 ov), 5-125 (MW Snedden, 44.2 ov), 6-179 (S Patel, 53.1 ov), 7-191 (BR Hampton, 57.2 ov), 8-222 (KD Clarke, 65.5 ov)
Kasun Rajitha144550 3.93
Lahiru Kumara134261 2.00
Dushmantha Chameera122601 5.00
Suranga Lakmal82211 2.63
Dilruwan Perera122302 2.50
Lakshan Sandakan192672 3.53
Dhananjaya de Silva2031 1.50
Danushka Gunathilaka2060 3.00

Sri Lanka’s 2nd Innings

Danushka Gunathilaka c MW Snedden b PF Younghusband8377
Lahiru Thirimanne c MW Chu b BP Coburn4583
Dhananjaya de Silva not out1950
Kusal Mendis not out1112
2 (lb 1, w 1)
160/2 (37 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-116 (D Gunathilaka, 21.2 ov), 2-142 (L Thirimanne, 32.5 ov)
LR Dudding71330 4.71
MW Snedden61240 4.00
BR Hampton50330 6.60
BP Coburn70391 5.57
PF Younghusband82191 2.38
LI Georgeson3040 1.33
WT O'Donnell1070 7.00

NZ Borad XI’s 2nd Innings

0/0 (0 overs)
Fall of Wickets: