Messi, Neymar and James among FIFA Golden Ball nominees


The Barcelona stars have been named among a shortlist dominated by Argentina and Germany, who will contest Sunday’s World Cup final at the Maracana.

Lionel Messi, Neymar and James Rodriguez have been named among those shortlisted for the Fifa Golden Ball 2014.

The award is presented to the best player of the World Cup finals and is voted for by members of the media and Fifa’s Technical Study Group. 

The Barcelona stars were named alongside James, the tournament’s current top scorer with six goals, as part of a 10-man shortlist that is dominated by Germany and Argentina – the two sides who will contest Sunday’s final at the Maracana.

Javier Mascherano and Angel Di Maria join Messi as the three Argentina players to make the list.

Favourites Germany have four nominations, with Mats Hummels and Toni Kroos joining captain Philipp Lahm and Thomas Muller, who has scored five goals in Brazil so far.

Manuel Neuer, Keylor Navas and Sergio Romero have been nominated for the Golden Glove award for the tournament’s best goalkeeper, with Paul Pogba, Raphael Varane and Memphis Depay shortlisted for the Best Young Player award.


Fifa Golden Ball Nominees

Mats HummelsGermany

Thomas Muller – Germany

Toni Kroos – Germany

Philipp Lahm – Germany

Lionel Messi – Argentina

Javier Mascherano – Argentina

Angel Di Maria – Argentina

Neymar – Brazil

Arjen Robben – Netherlands

James Rodriguez – Colombia