Mercantile T20 – DIMO upsets MAS Active to enter semis


DIMO shocked MCA League and Knockout championship winning outfit, MAS Active to book their place in the semi-finals of the Mercantile Super T20 tournament in the only quarter-final game played at MCA grounds on Wednesday morning.

Due to poor ground conditions at Tyronne Fernando stadium in Moratuwa and brief afternoon showers at MCA grounds abandoned all three other quarter-final matches and the winner of each match was chosen by the toss of a coin.

MAS Active vs DIMO

DIMO turned the tables on strong MAS Active by one-wicket in a nail-biting last-ball finish at MCA grounds.

After being sent to bat first, MAS Active amassed only 133 losing 8 wickets in their 20 overs. Experienced, Angelo Perera top-scored with 30 runs. Fast-bowler Nisala Tharaka and leg-spinner Pulina Tharanga took 2 wickets apiece.

Chasing 134 runs to win, DIMO innings was spearheaded by left-hander Nipun Karunanayake’s 27 while Charitha Kumarasinghe made 25. As the game was shifting from one side to another in each over, Nipun was the 9th wicket to fall to the bowling of Isuru Udana.

DIMO needed 4 runs to win in the final ball and 20-year old Pramud Hettiwatte took his team over the winning line when he smashed Isuru Udana for a big-six to record the biggest surprise win of the season.

Incidentally, DIMO was playing in the ‘B’ division throughout the season meanwhile MAS Active was the best performing team in the ‘A’ division before this match happened.

MAS Active – 133/8 in 20 overs: Angelo Perera 30, Nisala Tharaka 2/17, Pulina Tharanga 2/41.

Dimo – 136/9 in 20 overs: Nipun Karunanayake 27, Charitha Kumarasinghe 25, Isuru Udana 2/20, Dhananjaya Silva 2/17, Charith Jayampathi 2/33.

  • Textured Jersey beat Commercial Credit PLC on Toss.  
  • Sampath Bank beat Hatton National Bank on Toss.
  • MAS Unichela beat John Keells on Toss