Lohan de Soyza’s fifer wrecks St. Benedict’s

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021


Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda demolished St. Benedict’s College, Kotahena with a 10-wicket win in their traditional encounter while St. Anthony’s College, Kandy won against Maliyadeva College in a tournament game. 

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021 – Traditional Matches

Dharmasoka College skipper, Lohan de Soyza, had an exceptional day at work as the left-arm spinner bagged 11 scalps against the hosts, St. Benedict’s College. 

The Benedictines were dismissed for 62 and 88 in both their innings respectively. Dharmasoka too had a faulty start with the bat as they managed only 119 runs in the first-innings. 

But thanks to some gritty bowling from de Soyza, they were able to emerge victorious. 

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021 – Tournament Matches

Maliyadeva College and St. Anthony’s College, Kandy locked horns at the Maliyadeva grounds today in their tournament fixture. Chaluka Athapaththu (57*) and Rishi Adishtan (56) struck half-centuries to elevate their team to 195 runs in their allotted 50 overs. 

The Antonians passed the target comfortably, earning their school a 3-wicket win. Lahiru Abeysinghe was the chief scorer for St. Anthony’s as he struck 47 runs for his merit.

Even though the Antonian’s looked a little brittle at the start, they won the game in style.

Brief Scores                                                                                                                

Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021 – Traditional Matches 

St. Benedicts College, Colombo vs Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda

At St. Benedict’s College Ground (Toss: St. Benedict’s College won & bat)

St. Benedict’s College 62 (24) 

Lohan de Soyza 3/03, Maneesha Rashmika 3/06, Sahan Sankalpa 3/24

& 88 (43.3) Hasindu Kavirathna 35, Sharujan Shanmuganathan 25, Lohan de Soyza 8/35, Sahan Sankalpa 2/24

Dharmasoka College 119 (41.5) 

Kaveen Samarahewa 31, Lohan de Soyza 25, Malinda Perera 3/23, Ashen De Soyza 3/30 & 36/0 (8) Kaveen Samarahewa 21*


Schools U19 Cricket Tournament 2021 – Tournament Matches

Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala vs St. Anthony’s College, Kandy

At Maliyadeva College Ground, Kurunegala (Toss: Maliyadeva College won & bat)

Maliyadeva College 195/9 (50)

Chaluka Athapaththu 57*, Rishi Adishtan 56, Amesh Thennakon 15, Yasiru Gamaarachchi 3/24, Chamindu Wickramsinghe 2/25

St. Anthony’s College 196/7 (47.1)

Lahiru Abeyasinghe 47, Asitha Wanninayake 27, Chamindu Wickramsinghe 26, Gihan Ebert 23, Anjala Bandara 11*, Sakindu Wijerathne 2/40