Leos CC and United Southern SC qualify for Final of Governor’s Trophy 2022

Governor’s Trophy One Day Tournament 2022


Leos Cricket Club and United Southern Sports Club qualified to the Final of Governor’s Trophy One Day Tournament, as they defeated Malay Cricket Club and Old Dharmapalians Sports Club respectively in the Semi-final encounters worked off today (26th September), at Colombo and Dombagoda.

Leos Cricket Club registered a thrilling 2-run win over Malay Cricket Club in the first semi-final played today at Bloomfield Ground in Colombo.

After been put into bat first, Leos Cricket Club posted 214 runs with Primash Obris (57) and Nishan Jayamal (46) starring with the bat. Dimuthu Samarakkody was the pick of the bowlers for Malay Cricket Club as he managed to pick up 3 wickets for 34 runs.

In reply, Malay Cricket Club posted 212 runs for 9 wickets in the allotted 50 overs, falling just 2 runs short of the target. Kalana Madushanka stroked a brilliant century for Malay CC, but it went in vain as he ended up on the losing side.

Madushanka stroked 102 runs off 140 balls with 10 fours. Supun Dilshan starred with the ball for victorious Leo CC, picking up 3 wickets for 28 runs.

United Southern Sports Club defeated Old Dharmapalians Sports Club by 5 wickets in the second Semi Final played today at Sri Lanka Army Ordinance Corps Sports Complex in Dombagoda.

United Southern Sports Club’s skipper Tharinda Nirmal won the toss and invited the opposition to take the first lease of the wicket. It turned out to be a good decision as they managed to restrict Old Dharmapalians Sports Club to 190/8 in the allotted 50 overs.

Tharindu Amarathunga and Madhumal Weerasinghe chipped in with useful 40s with the bat while Rusiru Rajapaksa and Woshitha Amarasinghe starred with the ball taking 3 wickets each.

United Southern SC chased down the target quite comprehensively thanks to excellent knocks played by Woshitha Amarasinghe (74) and Tharinda Nirmal (53).

Brief Scores

Leos Cricket Club – 214 (49.5) Primash Obris 57, Nishan Jayamal 46, Shehan Fernando 23, Nethmal Saheera 21, Rasindu Fernando 21, Dimuthu Samarakkody 3/34, Madushika Sandaruwan 2/30, Savindu Uthsara 2/44

Malay Cricket Club – 212/9 (50) Kalana Madushanka 102, Mangala Pradeep 25, Supun Dilshan 3/28, Buddika Prasad 2/37, Hansaja Vishwajith 2/46

Result – Leos CC won by 2 runs

Old Dharmapalian Sports Club – 190/8 (50) Tharindu Amarathunga 49, Madhumal Weerasinghe 45, Neluka Heshan 29, Rusiru Rajapaksa 3/30, Woshitha Amarasinghe 3/40

United Southern Sports Club – 193/5 (42.2) Woshitha Amarasinghe 74, Tharinda Nirmal 53, Pathum Mendis 20

Result – United Southern SC won by 5 wickets