Lahiru Thirimanne to lead Sri Lanka Cricket President’s XI

Lahiru Thirimanne

The national selectors named a 14-member squad to represent Sri Lanka Cricket President’s XI against India in the two-day warm-up match at CCC grounds on 21st and 22nd July.

No shame in losing if you go down with a fight

When the Zimbabwe Cricket Team arrived in Sri Lanka to play a 5 game ODI Series…

Lahiru Thirimanne has been named captain of the side which comprises 8 batsmen, 4 fast bowlers and 2 spinners. Thirimanne last played for Sri Lanka during the England Tests in June, 2016. Young Sandun Weerakkody is set to don the gloves with Danushka Gunathilaka and Kaushal Silva set to open the batting.

Silva, 31 was axed from the Lankan Test unit after the South African series where he scored only 117 runs in 6 innings. Dhananjaya De Silva who top scored against Australia last year has also been named.

Sri Lanka’s best bowling performances in Tests against India

The three-match Test series between India and Sri Lanka starts next week in Galle…

Tharindu Kaushal who tormented India in 2015 taking 13 wickets has also been named in the side. He was reported for a suspect action after the third Indian Test and his ‘doosra’ was banned by ICC after his elbow was found to exceed the permitted 15-degrees of flex in 9 of the 18 doosras delivered in the biomechanical test.

The SLC President’s XI Squad – Danushka Gunathilaka, Kaushal Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Roshane Silva, Ashan Priyanjan, Sandun Weerakkody, Kithruwan Vithanage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Gamage, Vikum Sanjaya, Vishwa Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Tharindu Kaushal.