Vice-captain Kavishka Anjula struck a belligerent unbeaten hundred to help Ananda College defeat Nalanda College by 38 runs in their 42nd ‘Battle of the Maroons’ annual limited overs Cricket encounter played at SSC grounds yesterday.

The left-handed hard-hitting batsman smashed 8 boundaries and 5 sixes during his whirlwind 78-ball knock of 100 which lifted the Ananda College score to 271 all out in their allotted 50 overs. Earlier, Nalanda College skipper Dasun Senevirathne won the toss and elected to field first.

 Visit the March Madness Hub 

The Nalanda seamers struck early to restrict their arch-rivals to 53 for 3 in 15 overs before ex-captain and Sri Lanka under 19 vice-captain Sammu Ashan made a timely 54 to rebuild the innings. Sammu and Ashel Sigera (30) constructed a 76-run stand for 4th wicket while Kavishka and Dinuka Gimhan (30) built the all-important 96-run stand for the 9th wicket. Kalana Perera and Umeshka Dilshan took 2 scalps each for the school from Campbell Place.

 Photo Album – Ananda vs Nalanda 42nd One-Day Encounter 

Chasing 272 runs to win, Nalanda got off to a stunning start amassing 138 for 1 in 22 overs before the well-set Lakshitha Rasanjana fell for 71. In the 28th over, the other in-form batsman Nimnaka Rathnayake was dismissed for 71 by the Ananda spinner, Ashel Sigera as Nalanda lost their plot. They were finally bowled out for 233 in the 49th over. Sigera and left-arm spinner Dileepa Jayalath shared 5 wickets amongst them.

With this win, Ananda College has retained the trophy for the 7th consecutive year and have notched up 26 wins in the series.

Ananda College – 271 all out in 50 overs: Kavishka Anjula 100*, Sammu Ashan 54, Ashel Sigera 30, Dinuka Gimhana 30, Kalana Perera 2/35, Umeshka Dilshan 2/42.

Nalanda College – 233 all out in 48.2 overs: Lakshitha Rasanjana 71, Nimnaka Rathnayake 71, Suhanga Wijewardhane 37, Ashel Sigera 3/33, Dileepa Jayalath 2/42.

Man of the match – Kavishka Anjula (Ananda)
Best Batsman – Lakshitha Rasanjana (Nalanda)
Best Bowler – Ashel Sigera (Ananda)
Best Fielder – Kasun Sandaruwan (Nalanda)