Another big “W” for Kandy at Nittawela

Dialog Rugby League 2019/20


It was yet another victorious day for Kandy SC, as the hill-country club secured a comfortable win by 40 points to 24 against Police SC, down at Nittawela today evening.  The defending champions managed to record their 14th big “W” of the season, and retain their unbeaten record in the Dialog Rugby League 2019/20.

Nigel Ratwatte kick-started the proceedings down at Nittawela as the hosts didn’t waste much time to open their account with Shehan Pathirana touching down near the right-side corner flag, one minute into the game. However, Tharinda Ratwatte failed to bisect the posts off a tight angle. (Kandy 05 – 00 Police)

Five minutes later, Police replied with a seven-pointer as Yohan Pieris converted an under the post try by Rasith Silva. Yohan Pieris was back in action in the 18th minute of the day’s play, as he extended the Police lead to 5 points by slotting in a straight forward penalty. (Kandy 05 – 10 Police)

Both teams were reduced to 14 men as referee Priyantha Gunarathne sent Udara Suriyapperuma of Police SC and Kandy’s Praveen Charles to the sin bin after the two were caught in a small argy-bargy situation in the 24th minute of the game.

Kavindu Perera scored the equalizer for the hosts in the 32nd minute, when he touched down near the left-side corner flag, as Tharinda Ratwatte’s fabulous kick ensured that the hosts were back in the lead. (Kandy 12 – 10 Police)

Sri Lanka 7s captain, Dhanush Dayan secured five more points for the hosts as Tharinda once again cashed in with the extras in the 37th minute. (Kandy 19 – 10 Police)

It appeared as if Kandy would get past the first half with a 9 point lead, but the Policemen ensured that only a mere 2 points would separate the two teams after Janith Chandimal converted the try scored by Hashan Fernando in the 40th minute. 

Half Time – Kandy SC 19(3T, 2C) – 17(2T, 2C, 1P) Police SC

Similar to the first half, it was Kandy who opened their account early on in the second half as Roshan Weerarathne managed to move over the whitewash off the ruck, while Tharinda made no mistake with the conversion. (Kandy 26 – 17 Police)

Ten minutes later, Police replied with a try by replacement forward Lahiru Pavithra followed by a successful two-pointer off the boot of Janith Chandimal. (Kandy 26 – 24 Police) 

Kandy’s reply came off a five-pointer by Mohomed Shabeer in the 69th minute as Tharinda completed the seven pointer bringing Kandy’s lead back to 9 points, for the third time in the game. (Kandy 33 – 24 Police)

The two Ratwatte’s placed the final nail in the coffin as Tharinda Ratwatte bisected the posts after skipper Nigel Ratwatte managed to chase down a kick by Srinath Sooriyabandara from behind the Police twenty-two and place it beyond the whitewash.

Kandy remains the team to beat in the Dialog Rugby League 2019/20, whereas there appears to be no club capable of challenging the hill-country giants to the title even though a super round.

Full Time – Kandy SC 39 (6T, 3C, 1P) – 15 (2T, 1C, 1P) Police SC

  • Dialog Viu Player of the Match – Suhiru Anthony (Kandy SC)
  • Match Referee – Priyantha Gunarathne


Kandy SC:  Tries from Shehan Pathirana(1), Kavindu Perera(1), Dhanush Dayan(1), Roshan Weerarathne(1), Mohomed Shabeer(1), and Nigel Ratwatte(1)
Conversions (5) by Tharinda Ratwatte

Police SC: Tries from Rasith Silva(1), Hashan Fernando(1), and Laihru Pavithra(1)
Conversions by Yohan Pieris(2) and Janith Chandimal(1)
Penalties (1) by Yohan Pieris

Cautions & Sendoffs:
Yellow cards: Praveen Charles (Kandy SC), Udara Suriyapperuma (Police SC)