Kandy hammer the Soldiers at Nittawela


Kandy Sports club won their first match at Nittawela securing their highest score of the season against Army Sports Club. The game ended 58 points to the Army’s 13 points of Army SC. Kandy collected their points from 9 tries, 5 conversions, 1 penalty, while the opposition derived points from 1 converted try and two penalties.

Kandy came to their brilliant best today as we witnessed some excellent rugby from the hosts as speedsters Anurudda Wilwara and Dhanushka Ranjan competed with each other for tries, both notching up hat-tricks.

However, Buwenaka Udangamuwa was the player of the match as he made some barging runs and was excellent in defense. His breaks from the back of the scrum made it easy for the backline to exploit gaps.

Army drew first blood through Gayan Salinda who slotted a penalty for not releasing, it was from right under the posts only 25m from the posts. (Kandy 00-03 Army)

Wilwara and Ranjan scored in quick succession to give Kandy a 9 point cushion. Both tries came courtesy of some excellent back line moves from Kandy. Thilina Wijesinghe managed to only put through a single conversion from the flanks. (Kandy 12-03 Army)

Gayan Salinda bisected the posts yet again from under the posts as Kandy were guilty of dragging the player to the ground without the ball. (Kandy 12-06)

Wilwara scored his second try of the game soon after to extend the Kandy lead further. Wijesinghe missed yet again. The try was set up by the veteran Fazil Marija, playing in his last season, as he affected an excellent cut out pass after sucking in the defenders leaving Wilwara with none to beat. (Kandy 17-06 Army)

Srinath Sooriyabandara not to be out done then collected a cheeky kick from his teammate before running a good 20m to score under the posts.  Wijesinghe had no trouble this time. (Kandy 24-06 Army)

The flamboyant Richard Dharmapala and Ranjan scored twice just before the half time to make it 34 points to 06 at half time. Marija handed a lovely back hand pass to Dharmapala who went cross field to score while Ranjan on the other handed barged his way through. Thilina converted one of the two tries. (Kandy 34-06 Army)

Half Time; Kandy 34 (6T 2C)- 06 (2P) Army

  • Skipper Gayan Weeraratne was the silent contributor creating the opportunities

Wilwara scored his third in through an excellent counter attack, where after collecting the ball he ran right along the line before cutting back in and out to find his way under the posts. Wijesinghe added the extras with ease. (Kandy 41-06 Army)

Almost on cue Ranjan scored his 3rd of the game.  Gayan Weerathne handed Ranjan a back-hand pass after taking the hit himself and pushing Ranjan free for his hat-trick. Thilina made it look easy from the flanks. (Kandy 48-06 Army)

Kandy were handed a double blow as both Dimitri Wijethunga and Tharindu Chathuranga were sent off to cool down in the naughty boy chair for repeated infringements. Army capitalizing from the overlaps  scored through their captain Thusitha Senanayake who dived over in the corner flag. Gayan Salinda made a peach of a conversion from the corner flag. (Kandy 48-13 Army)

Kandy went over the 50 mark through a penalty that was put through by Nigel Rattwatte, as they opted for the 3 points since they were two men short to yellows. (Kandy 51-13 Army)

The final nail in the coffin was put by Jason Dissanayake.  Nigel Rattwatte kicked and collected the loose ball which popped out and handed Jason the final pass to run 20m and dived over with none in sight. (Kandy 58-13 Army)

Kandy who dominated for the first minute of play, looked menacing having polished off some rust but like last week the intensity coming into the second half seemed to have dropped having gone into the half time with a huge lead. They lead the table and are the only unbeaten team thus far. They will next meet Sri Lanka Air Force at Nittawela.

Full Time; Kandy 58 (9T 5C 1P) – 13 (1T 1C 2P) Army

  • ThePapare Player of the Match – Buwaneka Udangamuwa (Kandy)

Score Breakdown

Kandy SC : Tries by Anurudda Wilwara 3T, Dhanushka Ranjan 3T, Richard Dharmapala 1T, Jason Dissanayake 1T, Srinath Sooriyabandara 1T, Thilina Wijesinghe (3C), Nigel Rattwatte (1P 2C)

Army SC : Thusitha Senanayake 1T, Gayan Salinda 1C 2P


Kandy SC : Tharindu Chaturanga (Yellow), Dimithri Wijethunga (Yellow) 

Army SC : Suramya Herath (Yellow)