10-try Kandy demolishes Air Force

  • Still running strong in his final season, Fazil Marija was impressive at Ratmalana

Kandy continued their domination in the Dialog Rugby League as they started 2018 with a comprehensive victory against the struggling Air Force SC at Ratmalana as the score stood at 64 (10 T,7C) points to 12 (2T,1C) at the final whistle.

Visit the Dialog Rugby HUB

As expected this game was a one-sided affair as Kandy took control of the game from the kick off as they managed to score 10 tries against the opposition which made a big upset against them last year at the same venue.

Kandy capitalized on the early mistakes made the Airmen as they tried to run from their own red zone and had to concede a 5 meter scrum in front of the sticks as they were pushed back by the Kandy defense. Buwaneka Udangamuwa scored the opening try with an easy touch down when the Kandy forwards overpowered the Airmen and a few minutes later Dhanuska Ranjan scored an easy try under the sticks as Kandy made a few passes to the left and Ranjan finished the move. Thilina Wijesinghe had two easy kicks to add the extras. (Air Force 00 – 14 Kandy)

The Airmen managed score a try from their first attacking move when Ishara Madushan scored in the right corner as the Kandy defense was caught napping. Gayantha Iddamalgoda missed the conversion. Kandy clichéd the bonus point in the 20th minute with three consecutive tries from Danush Dayan, Shehan Pathirana and Anuruddha Wilwara as the wingers of Kandy managed to find overlaps in the defense to score for the defending champions. Wijesinghe managed only one conversion from the three tries. (Air Force 05 – 31 Kandy)

Kandy used their forwards a lot more in the second quarter of the game with few rolling mauls and Yakoob Ali managed to score from the back of the maul to increase the lead. Wijesinghe added the extras. (Air Force 05-38 Kandy)

The Airmen had very little possession of the ball in the Kandy half but they slowly but steadily managed to move closer to the try line. The Airmen then formed a rolling maul which made a few yards before Kandy illegally collapsed the maul. Referee played advantage but a high tackle by Udangamuwa resulted in a yellow card to him and penalty try to the Airmen.

Danush Dayan scored his second try just before half time with some amazing fast, open rugby displayed by the upcountry giants seeing five quick offloads. (Air Force 12 – 45 Kandy)

Half Time – Air Force 12 (2T, 1C) – 45 (7T, 5C) Kandy

Kandy piled up three more tries in the second half with Tharindu Chaturanga opening the scoring by charging down the box kick made by Iddamalgoda, collecting the loose ball and finding the white wash. Wijesinghe bisected the uprights with a perfect kick. (Air Force 12 – 52 Kandy)

The Airmen managed to keep possession of the ball a bit more in the second half comparing to the first but a counter attack from Ranjan was too good to handle as he made 40 meters before passing it to Nigel Ratwatte to score. The conversion was not successful this time around. (Air Force 12 – 57 Kandy)

The Airmen went down to fourteen men when Parakrama Rathnayake was sin binned for not releasing the tackler at the breakdown.

Kandy finished the game from a rolling maul as Hooker Uchitha Jayasoriya scored from the back of the maul to record the 10th try of the match for the defending champions. Wijesinghe added the extras.

Full Time – Air Force 12 (2T, 1C) – 64 (10T, 7C) Kandy

ThePapare Man of the Match: Danush Dayan (Kandy SC)

Getting the opportunity in coach Sean Wijesinghe’s side, Danush Dayan showed that he is worthy of a starting position in the Kandy team

The Score Breakdown

Air Force SC 12 (12) 2T, 1C

Tries by Ishara Madushan and Penalty try (7 points)

Kandy SC 64 (45) 10T, 7C

Tries by Buwaneka Udangamuwa, Dhanushka Ranjan, Danush Dayan (2), Shehan Pathirana, Anuruddha Wilwara, Yakoob Ali, Tharindu Chaturanga, Nigel Ratwatte and Uchitha Jayasoriya

Conversions by Thilina Wijesinghe (7)

Booking (yellow cards): Buwaneka Udangamuwa (Kandy) and Parakrama Rathnayake (Air Force)