Champions out to defend the title for the eighth consecutive season

Nippon Club Rugby League 2022/23

Nippon Club Rugby League 2022/23

Kings from the Hills and undisputed giants in the club rugby arena, Kandy Sports Club will be determined to keep hold of the firm grip that they have had on the league title this season as they have done in the past couple of decades. 

The most successful club in the league competition, Kandy Sports Club has won the top price an unprecedented 22 times and have single-handedly dominated the league since the mid 90s. Kandy only won their first title in 1994 but have not looked back since and have been the superpower everyone wants to defeat. Having won the last seven league titles back-to-back, expectations will be high for them to keep the high standards that they have set for themselves.

During the last season, despite stiff challenge from the other teams Kandy SC managed to remain unbeaten throughout the season and clinched their 7th successive title. However, this season will present the lads from the hill capital with a fresh challenge as some of their senior players have left the club and it will be interesting to see how soon the replacements will buy into Kandy’s philosophy in their maiden season.

Former Trinity Skipper and faithful servant of Kandy SC Damith Dissanayake has been handed the responsibility of leading the champion outfit during the 2022/23 season. One of Kandy SC’s most famous sons, Fazil Marija will continue as the Head Coach of the outfit with Buddika Thalagampola as the Assistant Coach while Tharaka Algama has been handed the responsibility of keeping the squad conditioned.

As always Kandy’s most potent weapon will be their experienced backs who are known to be lethal in attack. Experienced campaigners, Nigel Ratwatte, Tarinda Ratwatte, Kavindu Perera and the Perera twins are a handful for any team with Anuruddha Wilwara and Dhanushka Ranjan who have had an extended lay off from the game raring to go this season. Forwards are the area of concern for Kandy with the likes of Shehan Pathirana, Jason Dissanayaka, Buwaneka Udangamuwa, Ganuka Dissanayaka, Ashan Darling, Suhiru Anthony all leaving the club. But Kandy will bank on the experience of skipper Damith Dissanayake, Lasith Attanagoda, Yakoob Ali, Thilina Bandara and Sanushka Dissanayaka to lead the charge with the like of newcomers Tharindu Wewala and Dahan Nithina who impressed in the concluded school’s rugby season.

Kandy started off their season with a dominant victory over Army Sports Club at home despite not being as fluent as they would have preferred. In their second game traveling to the capital, Kandy was pushed to the limit by CR&FC who challenged them until the final minute of the game, but Kandy managed to hold onto a slender lead to keep their unbeaten tag alive.

Follow as we aim to bring you everything that you need to know about the Nippon Club Rugby league 2022/23.